Linux Archive

Linux Archive (http://www.linux-archive.org/)
-   Xubuntu Development (http://www.linux-archive.org/xubuntu-development/)
-   -   Xubuntu Strategy Document review (http://www.linux-archive.org/xubuntu-development/674436-xubuntu-strategy-document-review.html)

Pasi Lallinaho 06-19-2012 10:52 AM

Xubuntu Strategy Document review
 
Hello,

I've been reviewing and -writing the new Strategy Document for a good
time, as well as asking for feedback from a few people. Now it's time to
go even more public.

First things first, the new Strategy Document is viewable at
http://strategydoc.knome.fi/

The document is split into sections, with every section having its own
page. On the pages, you have three things:
* Most prominent changes
* The new text, and
* The old text

There is probably work to do still, and definitely discussions to be
had. So please, send any feedback to this list as soon as you get to
read the new document.

If it's grammatical/clarity issues only, sending to just me is fine.

The Strategy Document reviewing will be discussed in the future
community meetings, look out for agenda items for the subject.

Let's make the document even better together.

Cheers,
Pasi

--
Pasi Lallinaho (knome) http://open.knome.fi/
Leader of Shimmer Project and Xubuntu http://shimmerproject.org/
Graphic artist, webdesigner, Ubuntu member http://xubuntu.org/


--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel

Luca Manlio De Lisi 06-19-2012 11:38 AM

Xubuntu Strategy Document review
 
Hi Pasi!

I've found into the target page and paragraph, at the end of second section, instead of "but due to the ease of use it is a good option for these users too" I think that could be better to write something like "according to this ease of use, it's a good alternative for those users". Always in that page, at focus introduction paragraph I've got the feeling that we've forgot some commas, I think it should be "he specifications in the strategy document should not be confused with
release specific goals and priorities, but instead recognized as the
principles which the release specific goals are based on". In the Community page, at "Becoming and staying a member" paragraph, I think there's a verbal mistake (I've to admit that I've some doubts if I've understood the page): "To be accepted to this team, one must demonstrate their motivation and ability to contribute to Xubuntu", singular person with plural verb? I'm wrong or it better be "one must demonstrate his/hers motivation"? In the same paragraph, I believe that "However, if the break is to last longer than a cycle, or the contributor
is unsure if they will contribute at all in the future, it is
encouraged to leave the team and reapply at a later time" could sound better as "However, if the break lasts longer than a cycle, or the contributor is unsure if he/her will contribute anymore, etc etc".


At the moment, that's where I can check due to other things I've to do! You'll receive a mail if I've some other purposes or maybe not!

Cheers,
Luca.

2012/6/19 Pasi Lallinaho <pasi@shimmerproject.org>

Hello,



I've been reviewing and -writing the new Strategy Document for a good

time, as well as asking for feedback from a few people. Now it's time to

go even more public.



First things first, the new Strategy Document is viewable at

http://strategydoc.knome.fi/



The document is split into sections, with every section having its own

page. On the pages, you have three things:

** Most prominent changes

** The new text, and

** The old text



There is probably work to do still, and definitely discussions to be

had. So please, send any feedback to this list as soon as you get to

read the new document.



If it's grammatical/clarity issues only, sending to just me is fine.



The Strategy Document reviewing will be discussed in the future

community meetings, look out for agenda items for the subject.



Let's make the document even better together.



Cheers,

Pasi



--

Pasi Lallinaho (knome) * * * * * * * * * * * http://open.knome.fi/

Leader of Shimmer Project and Xubuntu * * * http://shimmerproject.org/

Graphic artist, webdesigner, Ubuntu member * http://xubuntu.org/





--

xubuntu-devel mailing list

xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com

https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel



--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel

Eero Tamminen 06-19-2012 06:40 PM

Xubuntu Strategy Document review
 
Hi,

On tiistai 19 keskuu 2012, Pasi Lallinaho wrote:
> I've been reviewing and -writing the new Strategy Document for a good
> time, as well as asking for feedback from a few people. Now it's time to
> go even more public.
>
> First things first, the new Strategy Document is viewable at
> http://strategydoc.knome.fi/


* Mission statement

IMHO it would still be good to mention XFce as that's the main
thing that differentiates Xubuntu from the other Ubuntu derivatives.

Maybe something like this in the mission statement (where Ubuntu and XFce
would would be links to those projects):
--
Xubuntu is a community developed, Ubuntu derived operating system
based on the XFce desktop environment. It aims to be elegant and
easy to use.
--

Btw. I don't particularly like "elegant" as mission/target because
I don't see how one would quantify whether something is more or less
"elegant" than something else.


* The target

IMHO first paragraph needs to be more focused and clearer.
Now it goes to too many directions and gives an impression
that Xubuntu isn't innovative.

* Performance

I would use "*may* not be able to support" here:
"This ultimately means that newer Xubuntu releases are not able
to support older computers". Now you're saying it won't support
them.

* Ready to use product

IMHO this is redundant, first paragraph probably belongs with
"Usability" focus and rest with "Performance" focus.


* Community

"constitutues" -> "constitutes"


* Package selection

Usability:

IMHO also whether "application is translated to languages supported
by other Xubuntu applications" is an important usability criteria.
If user doesn't understand the texts in app UI, it's not usable.

Resource consumption:

As there is a lot of confusion how to measure process memory
usage, IMHO it would be best to state what value in what tool
is used for this.

The "Memory" column in gnome-system-monitor output is good
for this. It would seem to sum together writable + X resource
usage of the application.


- Eero

--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel

Pasi Lallinaho 06-19-2012 06:44 PM

Xubuntu Strategy Document review
 
Hey Luca,



On 06/19/2012 02:38 PM, Luca Manlio De Lisi wrote:
Hi Pasi!



I've found into the target page and paragraph, at the end of
second section, instead of "but due to the ease of use it is a
good option for these users too" I think that could be better to
write something like "according to this ease of use, it's a good
alternative for those users".


Others, feedback?



Always in that page, at focus introduction paragraph
I've got the feeling that we've forgot some commas, I think it
should be "he specifications in the strategy document should not
be confused with release specific goals and priorities, but
instead recognized as the principles which the release specific
goals are based on".


I think this is fine as it is.



In the Community page, at "Becoming and staying a
member" paragraph, I think there's a verbal mistake (I've to admit
that I've some doubts if I've understood the page): "To be
accepted to this team, one must demonstrate their
motivation and ability to contribute to Xubuntu", singular person
with plural verb? I'm wrong or it better be "one must demonstrate
his/hers motivation"? In the same paragraph, I believe that
"However, if the break is to last longer than a cycle, or the
contributor is unsure if they will contribute at all in the
future, it is encouraged to leave the team and reapply at a later
time" could sound better as "However, if the break lasts longer
than a cycle, or the contributor is unsure if he/her will
contribute anymore, etc etc".




This is "by design", so won't fix.






At the moment, that's where I can check due to other things I've
to do! You'll receive a mail if I've some other purposes or maybe
not!




Thanks!

Pasi



--
Pasi Lallinaho (knome) http://open.knome.fi/
Leader of Shimmer Project and Xubuntu *http://shimmerproject.org/
Graphic artist, webdesigner, Ubuntu member http://xubuntu.org/


--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel

Bruno Benitez 06-19-2012 09:07 PM

Xubuntu Strategy Document review
 
I agree with Eero, i don't like the term "elegance" if I could I would suggest change this line:

Xubuntu is a community developed, Ubuntu-based operating system that combines elegance and ease of use



with something like this:

Xubuntu is a community developed, Ubuntu-based operating system that combines simplicity and usability.


thats all i have for now.

--
Bruno.-


--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel

Santiago Roland 06-19-2012 09:30 PM

Xubuntu Strategy Document review
 
On Tue, 2012-06-19 at 13:52 +0300, Pasi Lallinaho wrote:
> Hello,
>
> I've been reviewing and -writing the new Strategy Document for a good
> time, as well as asking for feedback from a few people. Now it's time to
> go even more public.
>
> First things first, the new Strategy Document is viewable at
> http://strategydoc.knome.fi/
>
> The document is split into sections, with every section having its own
> page. On the pages, you have three things:
> * Most prominent changes
> * The new text, and
> * The old text
>
> There is probably work to do still, and definitely discussions to be
> had. So please, send any feedback to this list as soon as you get to
> read the new document.
>
> If it's grammatical/clarity issues only, sending to just me is fine.
>
> The Strategy Document reviewing will be discussed in the future
> community meetings, look out for agenda items for the subject.
>
> Let's make the document even better together.
>
> Cheers,
> Pasi
>
> --
> Pasi Lallinaho (knome) » http://open.knome.fi/
> Leader of Shimmer Project and Xubuntu » http://shimmerproject.org/
> Graphic artist, webdesigner, Ubuntu member » http://xubuntu.org/
>
>

Hi all, i know I’m new here and i feel with no right to talk, and even
more, talk of an off topic. I read the document you are talking about
and i think it's great and well written despite the minor details that
maybe could be corrected.

I'm trying to make a remix of Xubuntu and i tried to change the default
panel layout with no luck and maybe developers could help me getting the
correct settings for this.

Maybe if developers could then tale a look at the xubuntu remix, they
could be able to see what sort of changes i would propose to the whole
XFCE/xubuntu settings and kinda start to talk about things like
functionality, ease of use, even maybe applications improvements that i
think Xubuntu could implement to have a better user experience.

I don't mean to disturb the talk flow here, but because I'm new here,
don't know when/where to talk.

Best regards,


--
Santiago Roland.-
-----------------
openPGP key: 04DF8076
http://is.gd/jKuIhW
--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel

Luca Manlio De Lisi 06-20-2012 06:25 PM

Xubuntu Strategy Document review
 
Hi guys!

I've finished reading the whole document, and I also agree with Eero! I don't think that the document needs other improvements!

Santiago don't worry, somehow everyone is new to everything, but we've always right to talk :D


2012/6/19 Santiago Roland <sroland@lavabit.com>

On Tue, 2012-06-19 at 13:52 +0300, Pasi Lallinaho wrote:

> Hello,

>

> I've been reviewing and -writing the new Strategy Document for a good

> time, as well as asking for feedback from a few people. Now it's time to

> go even more public.

>

> First things first, the new Strategy Document is viewable at

> http://strategydoc.knome.fi/

>

> The document is split into sections, with every section having its own

> page. On the pages, you have three things:

> ** Most prominent changes

> ** The new text, and

> ** The old text

>

> There is probably work to do still, and definitely discussions to be

> had. So please, send any feedback to this list as soon as you get to

> read the new document.

>

> If it's grammatical/clarity issues only, sending to just me is fine.

>

> The Strategy Document reviewing will be discussed in the future

> community meetings, look out for agenda items for the subject.

>

> Let's make the document even better together.

>

> Cheers,

> Pasi

>

> --

> Pasi Lallinaho (knome) * * * * * * * * * * *» http://open.knome.fi/

> Leader of Shimmer Project and Xubuntu * * * » http://shimmerproject.org/

> Graphic artist, webdesigner, Ubuntu member *» http://xubuntu.org/

>

>



Hi all, i know I’m new here and i feel with no right to talk, and even

more, talk of an off topic. I read the document you are talking about

and i think it's great and well written despite the minor details that

maybe could be corrected.



I'm trying to make a remix of Xubuntu and i tried to change the default

panel layout with no luck and maybe developers could help me getting the

correct settings for this.



Maybe if developers could then tale a look at the xubuntu remix, they

could be able to see what sort of changes i would propose to the whole

XFCE/xubuntu settings and kinda start to talk about things like

functionality, ease of use, even maybe applications improvements that i

think Xubuntu could implement to have a better user experience.



I don't mean to disturb the talk flow here, but because I'm new here,

don't know when/where to talk.



Best regards,





--

Santiago Roland.-

-----------------

openPGP key: 04DF8076

http://is.gd/jKuIhW


--

xubuntu-devel mailing list

xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com

https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel




--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel

Nuc72 07-07-2012 12:26 AM

Xubuntu Strategy Document review
 
Just a still note: I hope the document will looks like as the Xubuntu website
- I mean it will be based upon Pasi's visual theme (blue, striped
background, Ubuntu typeface etc.).

--
View this message in context: http://ubuntu.5.n6.nabble.com/Xubuntu-Strategy-Document-review-tp4980428p4982894.html
Sent from the xubuntu-devel mailing list archive at Nabble.com.

--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:22 PM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.