FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Ubuntu > Xubuntu Development

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 07-18-2011, 12:57 AM
Phil Whitaker
 
Default Xubuntu.org Website Review

Following on from the request in the weekly meeting, I have the following comments on the current website:
I found no mention of the fact that Xubuntu is derived from Ubuntu (just one mention that it uses the "Ubuntu-base"), so the references to Ubuntu websites, wkis and forums probably confuses people unfamiliar with Linux or Ubuntu.




Latest News sidebar
This seems a little sparse, could we pull in news from Xfce here?

Home Page (http://xubuntu.org/)
"Xubuntu is a community developed, Linux-based operating system that is perfect for laptops, desktops and servers": *I'm not sure about the wording here, I propose "... that is well suited to both laptops and desktops" or something similar. *To my mind, a server would not have a desktop environment, so that make would Xubuntu Server the same as Ubuntu Server, plus I don't like the use of "perfect".*



About (http://xubuntu.org/about)
We repeat the above statement in paragraph 1, without mentioning servers, but in paragraph 3, we state "We issue a new desktop and server release every six months"; again, I would suggest "... well suited for both laptops and desktops" for paragraph 1 and "We issue a new Xubuntu release every six months" for paragraph 3.


*Help and Support (http://xubuntu.org/help)
In the Internet Relay Chat*section, it states "IRC is considered another Internet technology just like FTP, Telnet and the Web"; IRC is*another internet technology and the reference to Telnet is antiquated (IMO). *How about*"IRC is another Internet technology, just like FTP and the Web"?



At the end of the section, I think we should state that "Although there may appear to be lots of people in the chat room, they may not be at their computers at the time; some people leave themselves logged in so they can review any questions when they get back. *Please don't be put off if you don't get a reply straight away." *I found this the most confusing thing when I first started using IRC.



In the Commercial Support*section, it states*"Xubuntu users around the world tell us that support and administration expertise are critical in ensuring the success of their Ubuntu deployments". *Should this be "Xubuntu deployments"?



Get Involved (http://xubuntu.org/devel)
In the Ideas and Feeback*section, it says "Help steer the direction we take Ubuntu, by describing your vision and ideas for a better server and desktop OS and application stack." *I think this should say Xubuntu and not mention servers (see comments above). *Also, application stack is quite a technical term, so how about "... for a better OS and applications"?



*Get Xubuntu (http://xubuntu.org/getubuntu)
Firstly, the link to this page isn't the best - can't it be /getxubuntu instead?



In the Upgrading*section, the instructions in Step 1 for accessing the Software Sources are no longer valid. *I believe "Applications -> System -> Update Manager -> Settings" would work for all releases from 8.04 onwards (I haven't used anything prior to that). *As noted in the weekly meeting, the screenshots are out-of-date.



In the Install Xubuntu from Ubuntu*section, it states "Next time you login, you can choose Xfce4 from the Session menu on the login screen." *In 11.04 it's "Xfce session", but you should actually choose "Xubuntu session".


In the Dual Boot*section, it states "Since Xubuntu shares the ubuntu-base"; this should be "Since Xubuntu shares the Ubuntu-base".

I hope to be able to review the team-specific pages this week.
Regards,
Philbeardygnome.co.uk




--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel
 
Old 07-18-2011, 07:50 AM
Mihamina Rakotomandimby
 
Default Xubuntu.org Website Review

> On Mon, 18 Jul 2011 01:57:33 +0100
> Phil Whitaker <xubuntu-devel@beardygnome.co.uk> wrote:

> *Latest News sidebar*
> This seems a little sparse, could we pull in news from Xfce here?

- I agree on this
- Should add some feeds from "xubuntu" tagged RSS/blogs/identi.ca
- Should have some (sub-)application news feeds
-- midori/epiphany integration news
-- xfwm integration news
-- lightdm integration news
-- claws-mail/sylpheed integration news
-- ...
- a kind of "popularity contest" or counter or ...
- typical machines running Xubuntu (testimonies?)

--
Mihamina de Rakotomandimby (MdR)

--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel
 
Old 07-19-2011, 05:10 AM
Elizabeth Krumbach
 
Default Xubuntu.org Website Review

On Sun, Jul 17, 2011 at 5:57 PM, Phil Whitaker
<xubuntu-devel@beardygnome.co.uk> wrote:
> Following on from the request in the weekly meeting, I have the following
> comments on the current website:
> I found no mention of the fact that Xubuntu is derived from Ubuntu (just one
> mention that it uses the "Ubuntu-base"), so the references to Ubuntu
> websites, wkis and forums probably confuses people unfamiliar with Linux or
> Ubuntu.

What do we think about changing:

Xubuntu is a community developed, Linux-based operating system

to:

Xubuntu is a community developed, Ubuntu Linux-based operating system

> Latest News sidebar
> This seems a little sparse, could we pull in news from Xfce here?
> Home Page (http://xubuntu.org/)

I'll let others chime in here, but we also want to start adding more
blog-type posts. I'm not sure about automatically pulling news in just
because it may not be applicable to current Xubuntu releases at any
given moment and could confuse people.

> "Xubuntu is a community developed, Linux-based operating system that is
> perfect for laptops, desktops and servers": *I'm not sure about the wording
> here, I propose "... that is well suited to both laptops and desktops" or
> something similar. *To my mind, a server would not have a desktop
> environment, so that make would Xubuntu Server the same as Ubuntu Server,
> plus I don't like the use of "perfect".

I agree, and it turns out that the Xubuntu project doesn't *have*
server ISOs like Ubuntu does, just desktop and alternate. I've gone
ahead and made this change except I believe it's "well-suited for"
rather than "to" because as I understand it "to" should be related to
a verb and "for" to a noun (any grammar people can chime in now, I
just asked the Internet for guidance here).

> About (http://xubuntu.org/about)
> We repeat the above statement in paragraph 1, without mentioning servers,
> but in paragraph 3, we state "We issue a new desktop and server release
> every six months"; again, I would suggest "... well suited for both laptops
> and desktops" for paragraph 1 and "We issue a new Xubuntu release every six
> months" for paragraph 3.

Agreed, changed.

> Help and Support (http://xubuntu.org/help)
> In the Internet Relay Chat*section, it states "IRC is considered another
> Internet technology just like FTP, Telnet and the Web"; IRC is*another
> internet technology and the reference to Telnet is antiquated (IMO). *How
> about*"IRC is another Internet technology, just like FTP and the Web"?

Sounds good, done.

> At the end of the section, I think we should state that "Although there may
> appear to be lots of people in the chat room, they may not be at their
> computers at the time; some people leave themselves logged in so they can
> review any questions when they get back. *Please don't be put off if you
> don't get a reply straight away." *I found this the most confusing thing
> when I first started using IRC.

Good point, and your wording is positive enough that I don't think
it'll discourage people from trying IRC. I've added it.

> In the Commercial Support*section, it states*"Xubuntu users around the world
> tell us that support and administration expertise are critical in ensuring
> the success of their Ubuntu deployments". *Should this be "Xubuntu
> deployments"?

Probably Fixed.

> Get Involved (http://xubuntu.org/devel)
> In the Ideas and Feeback*section, it says "Help steer the direction we take
> Ubuntu, by describing your vision and ideas for a better server and desktop
> OS and application stack." *I think this should say Xubuntu and not mention
> servers (see comments above). *Also, application stack is quite a technical
> term, so how about "... for a better OS and applications"?

I think you're right, I've changed it to:

"Help steer the direction we take Xubuntu, by describing your vision
and ideas for a better OS and default set of applications."

> *Get Xubuntu (http://xubuntu.org/getubuntu)
> Firstly, the link to this page isn't the best - can't it be /getxubuntu
> instead?

Wow, I didn't even notice that! But I think we'll hold off on fixing
that until we migrate to Wordpress so we don't need to set up
redirects that we'll just have to set up again in a month.

> In the Upgrading*section, the instructions in Step 1 for accessing the
> Software Sources are no longer valid. *I believe "Applications -> System ->
> Update Manager -> Settings" would work for all releases from 8.04 onwards (I
> haven't used anything prior to that). *As noted in the weekly meeting, the
> screenshots are out-of-date.

Everything beyond 8.04 is EOL anyway so we don't need to worry about
it. Fixed, and Unit193 got me screen shots tonight - hooray!

> In the Install Xubuntu from Ubuntu*section, it states "Next time you login,
> you can choose Xfce4 from the Session menu on the login screen." *In 11.04
> it's "Xfce session", but you should actually choose "Xubuntu session".

I don't log in very often (I'm always logged in!) so I don't remember,
when was the change so we can word this correctly? Should we just
change it to say "Xubuntu session" or was there a time in supported
history when it was "Xfce session"?

> In the Dual Boot*section, it states "Since Xubuntu shares the ubuntu-base";
> this should be "Since Xubuntu shares the Ubuntu-base".

Fixed.

> I hope to be able to review the team-specific pages this week.

Thanks again!

--
Elizabeth Krumbach // Lyz // pleia2
http://www.princessleia.com

--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel
 
Old 07-19-2011, 07:47 AM
Eero Tamminen
 
Default Xubuntu.org Website Review

Hi,

On tiistai 19 heinäkuu 2011, Elizabeth Krumbach wrote:
> On Sun, Jul 17, 2011 at 5:57 PM, Phil Whitaker
> > Get Xubuntu (http://xubuntu.org/getubuntu)
> > Firstly, the link to this page isn't the best - can't it be /getxubuntu
> > instead?

As distro names is already in domain name, why it couldn't simply be /get
or /download?


> > In the Install Xubuntu from Ubuntu section, it states "Next time you
> > login, you can choose Xfce4 from the Session menu on the login
> > screen." In 11.04 it's "Xfce session", but you should actually choose
> > "Xubuntu session".
>
> I don't log in very often (I'm always logged in!) so I don't remember,
> when was the change so we can word this correctly? Should we just
> change it to say "Xubuntu session" or was there a time in supported
> history when it was "Xfce session"?

Distribution can have multiple desktop environments installed at
the same time.

If user has also installed e.g. ubuntu studio metapackage, should the other
login alternative on his Xubuntu distribution login screen be for "Ubuntu
Studio distribution" or "Gnome desktop"?

Or if user installs xubuntu metapackage to a Kubuntu distro, should
the alternative be "Xubuntu distribution" or "XFCE desktop"?

The question isn't quite black&white because the desktops aren't
pure upstream desktop environment but have distribution specific
tunings, e.g. Xubuntu flavor of XFCE desktop is made to look like
Ubuntu Gnome 2.x desktop, it doesn't look like pure XFCE.

It depends a bit also on what kind of balance you want between
Xubuntu & XFCE branding and what the majority of users except.


Most descriptive would be something like:
Xubuntu XFCE desktop session

But it's a bit long. :-)


- Eero

--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel
 
Old 07-19-2011, 08:08 AM
Pasi Lallinaho
 
Default Xubuntu.org Website Review

On 07/19/2011 10:47 AM, Eero Tamminen wrote:
> Hi,
>
> On tiistai 19 heinäkuu 2011, Elizabeth Krumbach wrote:
>> On Sun, Jul 17, 2011 at 5:57 PM, Phil Whitaker
>>> Get Xubuntu (http://xubuntu.org/getubuntu)
>>> Firstly, the link to this page isn't the best - can't it be /getxubuntu
>>> instead?
> As distro names is already in domain name, why it couldn't simply be /get
> or /download?
>
Afaik, we decided to keep this on the last website update just because
the rest of the *buntu* sites used that address to point to downloads.
>>> In the Install Xubuntu from Ubuntu section, it states "Next time you
>>> login, you can choose Xfce4 from the Session menu on the login
>>> screen." In 11.04 it's "Xfce session", but you should actually choose
>>> "Xubuntu session".
>> I don't log in very often (I'm always logged in!) so I don't remember,
>> when was the change so we can word this correctly? Should we just
>> change it to say "Xubuntu session" or was there a time in supported
>> history when it was "Xfce session"?
> Distribution can have multiple desktop environments installed at
> the same time.
>
> If user has also installed e.g. ubuntu studio metapackage, should the other
> login alternative on his Xubuntu distribution login screen be for "Ubuntu
> Studio distribution" or "Gnome desktop"?
>
> Or if user installs xubuntu metapackage to a Kubuntu distro, should
> the alternative be "Xubuntu distribution" or "XFCE desktop"?
>
> The question isn't quite black&white because the desktops aren't
> pure upstream desktop environment but have distribution specific
> tunings, e.g. Xubuntu flavor of XFCE desktop is made to look like
> Ubuntu Gnome 2.x desktop, it doesn't look like pure XFCE.
>
> It depends a bit also on what kind of balance you want between
> Xubuntu & XFCE branding and what the majority of users except.
>
>
> Most descriptive would be something like:
> Xubuntu XFCE desktop session
>
> But it's a bit long. :-)
>
>
> - Eero
>


--
Pasi Lallinaho » http://open.knome.fi/
Leader of the Shimmer Project » http://shimmerproject.org/
Graphic artist, webdesigner, Ubuntu member » IRC: knome @ freenode


--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel
 
Old 07-19-2011, 08:15 AM
Mihamina Rakotomandimby
 
Default Xubuntu.org Website Review

> On Tue, 19 Jul 2011 10:47:06 +0300
> Eero Tamminen <oak@helsinkinet.fi> wrote:
> If user has also installed e.g. ubuntu studio metapackage, should the
> other login alternative on his Xubuntu distribution login screen be
> for "Ubuntu Studio distribution" or "Gnome desktop"?

I think we should focus on people installing Xubuntu from the Xubuntu
iso.

People installing in any other way, we may consider them mid-level
users, knowing a bit about Ubuntu technical.

--
Mihamina de Rakotomandimby (MdR)

--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel
 
Old 07-19-2011, 10:12 AM
Eero Tamminen
 
Default Xubuntu.org Website Review

Hi,

On tiistai 19 heinäkuu 2011, Mihamina Rakotomandimby wrote:
> > On Tue, 19 Jul 2011 10:47:06 +0300
> > Eero Tamminen <oak@helsinkinet.fi> wrote:
> > If user has also installed e.g. ubuntu studio metapackage, should the
> > other login alternative on his Xubuntu distribution login screen be
> > for "Ubuntu Studio distribution" or "Gnome desktop"?
>
> I think we should focus on people installing Xubuntu from the Xubuntu
> iso.
>
> People installing in any other way, we may consider them mid-level
> users, knowing a bit about Ubuntu technical.

The use-case above is about user who had installed Xubuntu like
you described. And after install, installed additional packages
to his/her Xubuntu install, ones that pulled in another desktop
due to to the dependencies.

(For example I manage my photos with digikam and burn my DVDs
with k3b as Xubuntu alternatives don't have enough features or
are too buggy. These pull in KDE stuff.)


- Eero

--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel
 
Old 07-19-2011, 05:12 PM
Bruno Benitez
 
Default Xubuntu.org Website Review

I have to say that I agree on beardygnome's analisis of the site, and I would like to add that being a non-english speaker (spañish) I find the lack of different languages to choose the page to be rather dissapointing.


I do understand that keeping multiple languages on a same site that updates "frequently" is hard, so I wonder if it won't be possible to use the "google translate" tools to add a simple "you are welcome, sorry we don't have a better solution" feeling.

I have tested it in EN-ES and it works pretty well.*


those are my two cents --
Bruno.-



--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel
 
Old 07-19-2011, 05:24 PM
Elizabeth Krumbach
 
Default Xubuntu.org Website Review

On Tue, Jul 19, 2011 at 10:12 AM, Bruno Benitez <gridcube@gmail.com> wrote:
> I have to say that I agree on beardygnome's analisis of the site, and I
> would like to add that being a non-english speaker (spañish) I find the lack
> of different languages to choose the page to be rather dissapointing.

There is a confirmed bug for this:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/xubuntu-website/+bug/797600

It's actually the last outstanding bug for the site.

> I do understand that keeping multiple languages on a same site that updates
> "frequently" is hard, so I wonder if it won't be possible to use the "google
> translate" tools to add a simple "you are welcome, sorry we don't have a
> better solution" feeling.

I don't have experience with translating sites and so we're exploring
our options for translation support in Wordpress when we move to that
later in the cycle. At the very least we'd like to do some kind of
revision control for pages so if translators want to do a translation
in their language they can base it upon a specific "snapshot in time"
of the site. This is also part of why we're doing this review, we want
everything updated so when we get to the point where we want to
translate we don't need to make many changes. A Google translate
option sounds like it's worth pursuing too.

--
Elizabeth Krumbach // Lyz // pleia2
http://www.princessleia.com

--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel
 
Old 07-19-2011, 08:44 PM
Phil Whitaker
 
Default Xubuntu.org Website Review

Or if user installs xubuntu metapackage to a Kubuntu distro, should
the alternative be "Xubuntu distribution" or "XFCE desktop"?
I think that you have misunderstood me - I am not suggesting alternative wording that we might like to use, *I am quoting the session options that I have*when I log into my desktop. *The options*are "Xfce session" and "Xubuntu session" and the correct one to choose is "Xubuntu session". *If you choose "Xfce session", you get a slightly different desktop (for example, last time I did this, there was no "Other" section in the Applications menu").


Regardless of how Xubuntu has been installed, I believe that the correct session to choose if you want to boot into Xubuntu (i.e. Ubuntu + Xfce) is "Xubuntu session".


Regards,
Phil
beardygnome.co.uk

--
xubuntu-devel mailing list
xubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/xubuntu-devel
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 04:56 PM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright ©2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org