Linux Archive

Linux Archive (http://www.linux-archive.org/)
-   Ubuntu Kernel Team (http://www.linux-archive.org/ubuntu-kernel-team/)
-   -   mutex: Place lock in contended state after fastpath_lock failure (http://www.linux-archive.org/ubuntu-kernel-team/697274-mutex-place-lock-contended-state-after-fastpath_lock-failure.html)

Luis Henriques 08-24-2012 10:47 AM

mutex: Place lock in contended state after fastpath_lock failure
 
From: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

BugLink: http://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/1041114

ARM recently moved to asm-generic/mutex-xchg.h for its mutex
implementation after the previous implementation was found to be missing
some crucial memory barriers. However, this has revealed some problems
running hackbench on SMP platforms due to the way in which the
MUTEX_SPIN_ON_OWNER code operates.

The symptoms are that a bunch of hackbench tasks are left waiting on an
unlocked mutex and therefore never get woken up to claim it. This boils
down to the following sequence of events:

Task A Task B Task C Lock value
0 1
1 lock() 0
2 lock() 0
3 spin(A) 0
4 unlock() 1
5 lock() 0
6 cmpxchg(1,0) 0
7 contended() -1
8 lock() 0
9 spin(C) 0
10 unlock() 1
11 cmpxchg(1,0) 0
12 unlock() 1

At this point, the lock is unlocked, but Task B is in an uninterruptible
sleep with nobody to wake it up.

This patch fixes the problem by ensuring we put the lock into the
contended state if we fail to acquire it on the fastpath, ensuring that
any blocked waiters are woken up when the mutex is released.

Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@fusionio.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-6e9lrw2avczr0617fzl5vqb8@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
(cherry picked from commit 0bce9c46bf3b15f485d82d7e81dabed6ebcc24b1)

Signed-off-by: Luis Henriques <luis.henriques@canonical.com>
---
include/asm-generic/mutex-xchg.h | 11 +++++++++--
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/asm-generic/mutex-xchg.h b/include/asm-generic/mutex-xchg.h
index 580a6d3..c04e0db 100644
--- a/include/asm-generic/mutex-xchg.h
+++ b/include/asm-generic/mutex-xchg.h
@@ -26,7 +26,13 @@ static inline void
__mutex_fastpath_lock(atomic_t *count, void (*fail_fn)(atomic_t *))
{
if (unlikely(atomic_xchg(count, 0) != 1))
- fail_fn(count);
+ /*
+ * We failed to acquire the lock, so mark it contended
+ * to ensure that any waiting tasks are woken up by the
+ * unlock slow path.
+ */
+ if (likely(atomic_xchg(count, -1) != 1))
+ fail_fn(count);
}

/**
@@ -43,7 +49,8 @@ static inline int
__mutex_fastpath_lock_retval(atomic_t *count, int (*fail_fn)(atomic_t *))
{
if (unlikely(atomic_xchg(count, 0) != 1))
- return fail_fn(count);
+ if (likely(atomic_xchg(count, -1) != 1))
+ return fail_fn(count);
return 0;
}

--
1.7.10.4


--
kernel-team mailing list
kernel-team@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kernel-team


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:37 AM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.