FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Ubuntu > Ubuntu Kernel Team

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 07-23-2012, 05:24 PM
Luis Henriques
 
Default 2.6.32.x: timekeeping: Add missing update call in timekeeping_resume()

From: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>

BugLink: http://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/1020285

This is a backport of 3e997130bd2e8c6f5aaa49d6e3161d4d29b43ab0

The leap second rework unearthed another issue of inconsistent data.

On timekeeping_resume() the timekeeper data is updated, but nothing
calls timekeeping_update(), so now the update code in the timer
interrupt sees stale values.

This has been the case before those changes, but then the timer
interrupt was using stale data as well so this went unnoticed for quite
some time.

Add the missing update call, so all the data is consistent everywhere.

Reported-by: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org>
Reported-and-tested-by: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
Reported-and-tested-by: Martin Steigerwald <Martin@lichtvoll.de>
Cc: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Linux PM list <linux-pm@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: John Stultz <johnstul@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>,
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <johnstul@us.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Linux Kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <johnstul@us.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Luis Henriques <luis.henriques@canonical.com>
---
kernel/time/timekeeping.c | 1 +
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)

diff --git a/kernel/time/timekeeping.c b/kernel/time/timekeeping.c
index 6054b94..3f7e53f 100644
--- a/kernel/time/timekeeping.c
+++ b/kernel/time/timekeeping.c
@@ -637,6 +637,7 @@ static int timekeeping_resume(struct sys_device *dev)
timekeeper.clock->cycle_last = timekeeper.clock->read(timekeeper.clock);
timekeeper.ntp_error = 0;
timekeeping_suspended = 0;
+ timekeeping_update(false);
write_sequnlock_irqrestore(&xtime_lock, flags);

touch_softlockup_watchdog();
--
1.7.9.5


--
kernel-team mailing list
kernel-team@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kernel-team
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03 PM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org