FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Ubuntu > Ubuntu Kernel Team

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 07-11-2012, 08:05 PM
Brad Figg
 
Default epoll: clear the tfile_check_list on -ELOOP

CVE-2012-3375

BugLink: http://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/1021811

An epoll_ctl(,EPOLL_CTL_ADD,,) operation can return '-ELOOP' to prevent
circular epoll dependencies from being created. However, in that case we
do not properly clear the 'tfile_check_list'. Thus, add a call to
clear_tfile_check_list() for the -ELOOP case.

Jason Baron (1):
epoll: clear the tfile_check_list on -ELOOP

fs/eventpoll.c | 4 +++-
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

--
1.7.9.5


--
kernel-team mailing list
kernel-team@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kernel-team
 
Old 07-11-2012, 08:05 PM
Brad Figg
 
Default epoll: clear the tfile_check_list on -ELOOP

From: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>

CVE-2012-3375

BugLink: http://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/1021811

An epoll_ctl(,EPOLL_CTL_ADD,,) operation can return '-ELOOP' to prevent
circular epoll dependencies from being created. However, in that case we
do not properly clear the 'tfile_check_list'. Thus, add a call to
clear_tfile_check_list() for the -ELOOP case.

Signed-off-by: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Reported-by: Yurij M. Plotnikov <Yurij.Plotnikov@oktetlabs.ru>
Cc: Nelson Elhage <nelhage@nelhage.com>
Cc: Davide Libenzi <davidel@xmailserver.org>
Tested-by: Alexandra N. Kossovsky <Alexandra.Kossovsky@oktetlabs.ru>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
(cherry picked from commit 13d518074a952d33d47c428419693f63389547e9)
Signed-off-by: Brad Figg <brad.figg@canonical.com>
---
fs/eventpoll.c | 4 +++-
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/fs/eventpoll.c b/fs/eventpoll.c
index 4d9d3a4..a6f3763 100644
--- a/fs/eventpoll.c
+++ b/fs/eventpoll.c
@@ -1629,8 +1629,10 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE4(epoll_ctl, int, epfd, int, op, int, fd,
if (op == EPOLL_CTL_ADD) {
if (is_file_epoll(tfile)) {
error = -ELOOP;
- if (ep_loop_check(ep, tfile) != 0)
+ if (ep_loop_check(ep, tfile) != 0) {
+ clear_tfile_check_list();
goto error_tgt_fput;
+ }
} else
list_add(&tfile->f_tfile_llink, &tfile_check_list);
}
--
1.7.9.5


--
kernel-team mailing list
kernel-team@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kernel-team
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 04:11 PM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org