FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Ubuntu > Ubuntu Kernel Team

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 08-29-2011, 03:11 PM
"Herton R. Krzesinski"
 
Default proc: fix oops on invalid /proc//maps access, CVE-2011-1020

From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

When m_start returns an error, the seq_file logic will still call m_stop
with that error entry, so we'd better make sure that we check it before
using it as a vma.

Introduced by commit ec6fd8a4355c ("report errors in /proc/*/*map*
sanely"), which replaced NULL with various ERR_PTR() cases.

(On ia64, you happen to get a unaligned fault instead of a page fault,
since the address used is generally some random error code like -EPERM)

Reported-by: Anca Emanuel <anca.emanuel@gmail.com>
Reported-by: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Américo Wang <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com>
Cc: Stephen Wilson <wilsons@start.ca>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
(cherry picked from commit 76597cd31470fa130784c78fadb4dab2e624a723)
CVE-2011-1020
BugLink: http://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/813026
Signed-off-by: Herton R. Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>

---
fs/proc/task_mmu.c | 3 ++-
1 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)

This is already applied on lucid, maverick and natty master/master-next,
but is required also on lucid/fsl-imx51, maverick/ti-omap4,
natty/ti-omap4

diff --git a/fs/proc/task_mmu.c b/fs/proc/task_mmu.c
index 7c708a4..2e7addf 100644
--- a/fs/proc/task_mmu.c
+++ b/fs/proc/task_mmu.c
@@ -182,7 +182,8 @@ static void m_stop(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
struct proc_maps_private *priv = m->private;
struct vm_area_struct *vma = v;

- vma_stop(priv, vma);
+ if (!IS_ERR(vma))
+ vma_stop(priv, vma);
if (priv->task)
put_task_struct(priv->task);
}
--
1.7.4.1


--
kernel-team mailing list
kernel-team@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kernel-team
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:36 PM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright ©2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org