Linux Archive

Linux Archive (http://www.linux-archive.org/)
-   Ubuntu Kernel Team (http://www.linux-archive.org/ubuntu-kernel-team/)
-   -   fnctl: f_modown should call write_lock_irqsave/restore (http://www.linux-archive.org/ubuntu-kernel-team/316883-fnctl-f_modown-should-call-write_lock_irqsave-restore.html)

Greg Kroah-Hartman 01-26-2010 10:04 PM

fnctl: f_modown should call write_lock_irqsave/restore
 
commit b04da8bfdfbbd79544cab2fadfdc12e87eb01600 upstream.

Commit 703625118069f9f8960d356676662d3db5a9d116 exposed that f_modown()
should call write_lock_irqsave instead of just write_lock_irq so that
because a caller could have a spinlock held and it would not be good to
renable interrupts.

Cc: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Cc: Tavis Ormandy <taviso@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Stefan Bader <stefan.bader@canonical.com>
---
fs/fcntl.c | 6 ++++--
1 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/fs/fcntl.c b/fs/fcntl.c
index 97e01dc..5ef953e 100644
--- a/fs/fcntl.c
+++ b/fs/fcntl.c
@@ -199,7 +199,9 @@ static int setfl(int fd, struct file * filp, unsigned long arg)
static void f_modown(struct file *filp, struct pid *pid, enum pid_type type,
int force)
{
- write_lock_irq(&filp->f_owner.lock);
+ unsigned long flags;
+
+ write_lock_irqsave(&filp->f_owner.lock, flags);
if (force || !filp->f_owner.pid) {
put_pid(filp->f_owner.pid);
filp->f_owner.pid = get_pid(pid);
@@ -211,7 +213,7 @@ static void f_modown(struct file *filp, struct pid *pid, enum pid_type type,
filp->f_owner.euid = cred->euid;
}
}
- write_unlock_irq(&filp->f_owner.lock);
+ write_unlock_irqrestore(&filp->f_owner.lock, flags);
}

int __f_setown(struct file *filp, struct pid *pid, enum pid_type type,
--
1.6.3.3


--
kernel-team mailing list
kernel-team@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kernel-team


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 AM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.