Linux Archive

Linux Archive (http://www.linux-archive.org/)
-   Ubuntu Kernel Team (http://www.linux-archive.org/ubuntu-kernel-team/)
-   -   inotify: remove debug code Bug: #104837 (http://www.linux-archive.org/ubuntu-kernel-team/117762-inotify-remove-debug-code-bug-104837-a.html)

Nick Piggin 02-06-2008 08:37 AM

inotify: remove debug code Bug: #104837
 
The inotify debugging code is supposed to verify that the
DCACHE_INOTIFY_PARENT_WATCHED scalability optimisation does not result in
notifications getting lost nor extra needless locking generated.

Unfortunately there are also some races in the debugging code. And it isn't
very good at finding problems anyway. So remove it for now.

Signed-off-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Robert Love <rlove@google.com>
Cc: John McCutchan <ttb@tentacle.dhs.org>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@ucw.cz>
Cc: Yan Zheng <yanzheng@21cn.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Tim Gardner <tim.gardner@canonical.com>
---
fs/dcache.c | 3 ---
fs/inotify.c | 17 +++++------------
2 files changed, 5 insertions(+), 15 deletions(-)

diff --git a/fs/dcache.c b/fs/dcache.c
index 6fc454e..7c718f9 100644
--- a/fs/dcache.c
+++ b/fs/dcache.c
@@ -1408,9 +1408,6 @@ void d_delete(struct dentry * dentry)
if (atomic_read(&dentry->d_count) == 1) {
dentry_iput(dentry);
fsnotify_nameremove(dentry, isdir);
-
- /* remove this and other inotify debug checks after 2.6.18 */
- dentry->d_flags &= ~DCACHE_INOTIFY_PARENT_WATCHED;
return;
}

diff --git a/fs/inotify.c b/fs/inotify.c
index b2b109b..690e725 100644
--- a/fs/inotify.c
+++ b/fs/inotify.c
@@ -168,20 +168,14 @@ static void set_dentry_child_flags(struct inode *inode, int watched)
struct dentry *child;

list_for_each_entry(child, &alias->d_subdirs, d_u.d_child) {
- if (!child->d_inode) {
- WARN_ON(child->d_flags & DCACHE_INOTIFY_PARENT_WATCHED);
+ if (!child->d_inode)
continue;
- }
+
spin_lock(&child->d_lock);
- if (watched) {
- WARN_ON(child->d_flags &
- DCACHE_INOTIFY_PARENT_WATCHED);
+ if (watched)
child->d_flags |= DCACHE_INOTIFY_PARENT_WATCHED;
- } else {
- WARN_ON(!(child->d_flags &
- DCACHE_INOTIFY_PARENT_WATCHED));
- child->d_flags&=~DCACHE_INOTIFY_PARENT_WATCHED;
- }
+ else
+ child->d_flags &=~DCACHE_INOTIFY_PARENT_WATCHED;
spin_unlock(&child->d_lock);
}
}
@@ -253,7 +247,6 @@ void inotify_d_instantiate(struct dentry *entry, struct inode *inode)
if (!inode)
return;

- WARN_ON(entry->d_flags & DCACHE_INOTIFY_PARENT_WATCHED);
spin_lock(&entry->d_lock);
parent = entry->d_parent;
if (parent->d_inode && inotify_inode_watched(parent->d_inode))
--
1.5.4.3


--
kernel-team mailing list
kernel-team@lists.ubuntu.com
https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kernel-team


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:41 PM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.