Satellite TV to PC
Has anyone seen this site:
http://www.satellitetvtopc.com/ Seems like its too good to be true, and a little voice inside me says when it appears that way, it probably is. Does anyone know about this company? But the idea of satellite TV being streamed over a broadband connection intrigues me. Could this work in Kubuntu? Are there any providers who offer this sort of service? -- Graham Todd -- kubuntu-users mailing list kubuntu-users@lists.ubuntu.com Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-users |
Satellite TV to PC
Graham wrote:
> Has anyone seen this site: > > http://www.satellitetvtopc.com/ > > Seems like its too good to be true, and a little voice inside me says > when it appears that way, it probably is. Does anyone know about this > company? Only what I had seen on the website. "Free TV" - after you pay us for the program... The fact is, there are huge quantities of "free" (as in either beer or just freely available) Satellite TV (google "free to air" or "FTA satellite") and they're providing some way to get at that from your computer. I'm _not_ convinced they have a legal right to distribute the TV signals they're talking about. otoh, they could be providing you with a media player preset with links to streaming video from actual networks - I have no idea how many (if any) networks _do_ have a streaming video feed. If that's the case, then they have a right to do what they're doing, but it wouldn't cost you anything but your time to do it yourself. -- derek -- kubuntu-users mailing list kubuntu-users@lists.ubuntu.com Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-users |
Satellite TV to PC
On Nov 19, 2007 6:16 AM, Graham <grahamtodd2@googlemail.com> wrote:
> Has anyone seen this site: > > http://www.satellitetvtopc.com/ > > Seems like its too good to be true, and a little voice inside me says > when it appears that way, it probably is. Does anyone know about this > company? Quick whois returns this: <snip> Domain Name: SATELLITETVTOPC.COM Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com Referral URL: http://www.melbourneit.com Name Server: YNS1.YAHOO.COM Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM Status: clientTransferProhibited Updated Date: 04-nov-2007 Creation Date: 15-nov-2005 Expiration Date: 15-nov-2008 <snip> Domain Name.......... satellitetvtopc.com Creation Date........ 2005-11-16 Registration Date.... 2005-11-16 Expiry Date.......... 2008-11-16 Organisation Name.... David Miller Organisation Address. SCPO Box 43128 Organisation Address. 4841 Yonge St. Organisation Address. Toronto Organisation Address. M2N 6N1 Organisation Address. ON Organisation Address. CANADA Admin Name........... david miller Admin Address........ SCPO Box 43128 Admin Address........ 4841 Yonge St. Admin Address........ Toronto Admin Address........ M2N 6N1 Admin Address........ ON Admin Address........ CANADA Admin Email.......... legal@satellitetvtopc.com Admin Phone.......... +1.2621500 Admin Fax............ Tech Name............ david miller Tech Address......... SCPO Box 43128 Tech Address......... 4841 Yonge St. Tech Address......... Toronto Tech Address......... M2N 6N1 Tech Address......... ON Tech Address......... CANADA Tech Email........... legal@satellitetvtopc.com Tech Phone........... +1.2621500 Tech Fax............. Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com So this guy "David Miller" from "Toronto" (he has the same name as the mayor of Toronto?) is getting all of this money. Why is he the contact for organization, admin, and tech? Perhaps to have to forge as little info as possible. Also, that phone number looks a little fishy, but I don't want to call it to see if someone picks up (I bet you won't get through). Looking at the webpage makes me think even more that it is not legit. Check out the "reviews" from "real" people: ------------------------------------ THANK YOU !! 10/10 EXCELLENT AAA+ VERY GOOD VALUE ! - Jeff T. Fast Service! As Advertised! Thank You! - Mike O. I saved more than $500! - Peter R. BRILLIANT - Mary S. Product was just as described - Jacob W. Awesome, thanks! - Dan T. A++, would suggest to anyone. Thanks - Robert J. Product as described and works, Thanks - Rosa D. ------------------------------------- Pretty weak if you ask me. But what did Steve, Bill, and John have to say? I'm just saying that they all have _very_ common names; it shows a lack of creativity of David's part. At first glance I didn't believe this thing just because of the unprofessional design of the webpage. Also, he can't even host his own "video" (which, unfortunately, won't work for me) of the product "working". Maybe I'm too cynical, but I wouldn't give David one penny. Andrew -- 45 5F E1 04 22 CA 29 C4 93 3F 95 05 2B 79 2A B2 -- kubuntu-users mailing list kubuntu-users@lists.ubuntu.com Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-users |
Satellite TV to PC
On Tue, 20 Nov 2007 16:53:40 -0500
"Andrew Jarrett" <jarrett.andrew@gmail.com> wrote: > Maybe I'm too cynical, but I wouldn't give David one penny. > > Andrew I wouldn't either, but my cousin (who uses Mac OSX Tiger) did when advertised in eBay. Apparently the software runs only in Windows, so he's getting a refund. Given that the whole service "may" be legit (earlier posting which I can't find right now), and earlier posters say you can do this in Linux by checking the right software, does anybody actually know HOW to do this in Kubuntu? As long as its legit of course.... -- Graham Todd -- kubuntu-users mailing list kubuntu-users@lists.ubuntu.com Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-users |
| All times are GMT. The time now is 11:18 PM. |
VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.