FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Ubuntu > Kubuntu Development

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 05-30-2011, 12:40 PM
Michal Zajac
 
Default Backup application review

Fellow Developers,


As arranged on UDS I have performed a check-up on available backup applications for our favourite KDE for inclusion on DVD. I have found two applications which meet the following criteria:


Must be KDE or Qt based

Has to be maintained



Those two applications are:

KBackup [1]BackInTime [2]


and they are both available in our repositories.


Based on superficial research carried out in mere 20 minutes I deem BackInTime KDE superior to KBackup in almost every aspect. Both applications have options to create backups but no matter when I looked I could not find Restore option in KBackup. What is more, BackInTime allows you to browse backups so you can restore only the files you want, it also displays any other backup which contains the selected file and shows a diff beween them (if possible ofc).





So far all test have been conducted on 1GB directory with mixed files (images, binaries, audio files and videos) but very soon I will be forced to copy my data to another HDD so I shall try them with about 900GB of data.





I invite each of you to give both of those applications a quick try and report back with results and experiences using them. Should anyone find another application which seems worthy of being our backup solution please do tell me.



[1]┬*http://kbackup.sourceforge.net/

[2]┬*http://backintime.le-web.org


Best regards.


Michał


--
kubuntu-devel mailing list
kubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-devel
 
Old 05-30-2011, 12:53 PM
Scott Kitterman
 
Default Backup application review

On Monday, May 30, 2011 08:40:46 AM Michal Zajac wrote:
> I could not find Restore option in KBackup

It doesn't have one. That's a definite limitation.

Scott K

--
kubuntu-devel mailing list
kubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-devel
 
Old 05-31-2011, 08:12 AM
Michal Zajac
 
Default Backup application review

Part of the discussion took place on IRC and I think it is safe to assume that BackInTime KDE will be our backup application of choice. I am marking that as done on Oneiric Todo list.

Best regards,

Michal

30-05-2011 15:35 u┼╝ytkownik "Aur├ęlien G├óteau" <aurelien.gateau@canonical.com> napisa┼é:> On 30/05/2011 14:40, Michal Zajac wrote:

>
>> [1] http://kbackup.sourceforge.net/
> Make this http://members.aon.at/m.koller/
>
>
>

> Aur├ęlien

--
kubuntu-devel mailing list
kubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-devel
 
Old 05-31-2011, 08:12 AM
Michal Zajac
 
Default Backup application review

Part of the discussion took place on IRC and I think it is safe to assume that BackInTime KDE will be our backup application of choice. I am marking that as done on Oneiric Todo list.

Best regards,

Michal

30-05-2011 15:35 u┼╝ytkownik "Aur├ęlien G├óteau" <aurelien.gateau@canonical.com> napisa┼é:> On 30/05/2011 14:40, Michal Zajac wrote:

>
>> [1] http://kbackup.sourceforge.net/
> Make this http://members.aon.at/m.koller/
>
>
>

> Aur├ęlien

--
kubuntu-devel mailing list
kubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-devel
 
Old 05-31-2011, 08:12 AM
Michal Zajac
 
Default Backup application review

Part of the discussion took place on IRC and I think it is safe to assume that BackInTime KDE will be our backup application of choice. I am marking that as done on Oneiric Todo list.

Best regards,

Michal

30-05-2011 15:35 u┼╝ytkownik "Aur├ęlien G├óteau" <aurelien.gateau@canonical.com> napisa┼é:> On 30/05/2011 14:40, Michal Zajac wrote:

>
>> [1] http://kbackup.sourceforge.net/
> Make this http://members.aon.at/m.koller/
>
>
>

> Aur├ęlien

--
kubuntu-devel mailing list
kubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-devel
 
Old 05-31-2011, 08:13 AM
Michal Zajac
 
Default Backup application review

Part of the discussion took place on IRC and I think it is safe to assume that BackInTime KDE will be our backup application of choice. I am marking that as done on Oneiric Todo list.

Best regards,

Michal

30-05-2011 15:35 u┼╝ytkownik "Aur├ęlien G├óteau" <aurelien.gateau@canonical.com> napisa┼é:> On 30/05/2011 14:40, Michal Zajac wrote:

>
>> [1] http://kbackup.sourceforge.net/
> Make this http://members.aon.at/m.koller/
>
>
>

> Aur├ęlien

--
kubuntu-devel mailing list
kubuntu-devel@lists.ubuntu.com
Modify settings or unsubscribe at: https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/kubuntu-devel
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57 AM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright ę2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org