On Thu, 2008-05-08 at 18:07 -0400, Jon Stanley wrote:
> On Thu, May 8, 2008 at 5:59 PM, Luya Tshimbalanga
> <luya@fedoraproject.org> wrote:
> > Hello,
> >
> > I have received email from spammer pretending to come from Red Hat. I include
> > the message source so someone can check the origin. It would be nice if there
> > is a mail that address spam and phising issue.
>
> This came to your fedoraproject.org address, and was thus handled by
> Red Hat. No news here, move on

. You can use abuse@ pretty much
> any domain and it should reach a person.
I don't think the spammer was pretending to come from Red Hat. I'm
fairly sure that '@redhat.com' you see in the From: address was added by
Red Hat's machines -- the original just said 'From: Top.SEO.Secrets'.
The Red Hat machines probably should have rejected the RFC2822-invalid
mail, but instead they accepted it and even qualified the address
'Top.SEO.Secrets', rewriting it to appear 'Top.SEO.Secrets@redhat.com'.
And then sent it on to you, since it was sent to your @fedoraproject.org
address.
--
dwmw2
--
fedora-devel-list mailing list
fedora-devel-list@redhat.com
https://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-devel-list