FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Debian > Debian dpkg

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 06-03-2011, 08:24 AM
Raphael Hertzog
 
Default The trigger in your Debian packages

Hello,

you're maintaining a Debian package which provides a trigger file.
Currently a package that "activates" a trigger is put in the
"triggers-awaited" status where it doesn't fulfill dependencies.
The trigger must first be processed and only then is the package
considered as "installed".

I believe that the vast majority of triggers do not provide a
functionality that is so important as to require that the triggering
package be put in that status. Thus I'm considering to change this
and to introduce new trigger directives that would keep the old
behaviour.

I need your help to identify the set of package which would have to
use the new directives, if I decide to introduce this incompatible change.
My recent mail to -devel[1] only suggested "ghc6" so I'm asking all the
maintainers directly this time.

[1] http://lists.debian.org/debian-devel/2011/05/msg01180.html

Please reply for the packages that you maintain to the question that
concerns you:

1/ If your package uses the "interest" directive in the triggers files,
is it important that the "triggering" packages that activate your triggers
be considered as not configured (and thus not satisfying dependencies)
until the trigger has been processed?

2/ If your package uses the "activate" directive, is it important that
your package be considered as not configured (and thus not satisfying
dependencies) until the trigger has been processed?


I have put "no" as answer for the "install-info" and "man-db" packages.
For the others, I would like you to answer explicitly yes or no with a
short rationale. If you don't know what to answer, please reply describing
what your trigger does, and we'll try to find out through discussion.

To make it easier to find the packages that concerns you, I have put a
dd-list below.

Thanks for your help!


Ying-Chun Liu (PaulLiu) <paulliu@debian.org>
clutter-imcontext
libomxil-bellagio

Russ Allbery <rra@debian.org>
lintian (U)
nvidia-graphics-drivers (U)

Bill Allombert <ballombe@debian.org>
gap
menu

Henrik Andreasson <debian@han.pp.se>
pike7.8 (U)

Osamu Aoki <osamu@debian.org>
xpdf (U)

maximilian attems <maks@debian.org>
initramfs-tools (U)

Sebastien Bacher <seb128@debian.org>
gnome-menus

Adam D. Barratt <adam@adam-barratt.org.uk>
lintian (U)

Mirco Bauer <meebey@debian.org>
mono (U)

Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
live-boot (U)
open-vm-tools (U)
plymouth (U)

Daniel Baumann <daniel@lists.debian-maintainers.org>
plymouth

Daniel Baumann <daniel.baumann@progress-technologies.net>
ntfs-3g

Andreas Beckmann <debian@abeckmann.de>
nvidia-graphics-drivers (U)

Vincent Bernat <bernat@debian.org>
nevow

Michael Biebl <biebl@debian.org>
hal (U)

Laurent Bigonville <bigon@debian.org>
gdk-pixbuf (U)

Fathi Boudra <fabo@debian.org>
icecc (U)

Nicholas Breen <nbreen@ofb.net>
grace

Joachim Breitner <nomeata@debian.org>
ghc6 (U)

Marc 'HE' Brockschmidt <he@debian.org>
gnome-menus (U)
lintian (U)

Rob Browning <rlb@defaultvalue.org>
guile-1.8

Ross Burton <ross@debian.org>
desktop-file-utils
hicolor-icon-theme

Vagrant Cascadian <vagrant@debian.org>
ltsp (U)

Jesus Climent <jesus.climent@hispalinux.es>
spamassassin (U)

C.M. Connelly <cmc@debian.org>
tex-common (U)

Debian Forensics <forensics-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
rkhunter
unhide
unhide.rb

Debian GNOME Maintainers <pkg-gnome-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
gconf (U)
gdk-pixbuf
glib2.0 (U)
gnome-icon-theme (U)
gnome-menus (U)
hicolor-icon-theme (U)

Debian KDE Extras Team <pkg-kde-extras@lists.alioth.debian.org>
icecc

Debian kernel team <debian-kernel@lists.debian.org>
initramfs-tools

Debian LibreOffice Maintainers <debian-openoffice@lists.debian.org>
libreoffice

Debian Live Project <debian-live@lists.debian.org>
live-boot

Debian Mono Group <pkg-mono-group@lists.alioth.debian.org>
mono

Debian multimedia packages maintainers <pkg-multimedia-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
vlc

Debian NVIDIA Maintainers <pkg-nvidia-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
nvidia-graphics-drivers

Debian Octave Group <pkg-octave-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
octave3.2

Debian PHP Maintainers <pkg-php-maint@lists.alioth.debian.org>
php5

Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
nevow (U)

Debian TeX maintainers <debian-tex-maint@lists.debian.org>
tex-common
texinfo

Jan Dittberner <jandd@debian.org>
cracklib2

Agustin Martin Domingo <agmartin@debian.org>
dictionaries-common

Benjamin Drung <bdrung@debian.org>
vlc (U)

Sebastian Dröge <slomo@debian.org>
gconf (U)
gdk-pixbuf (U)
glib2.0 (U)
gnome-icon-theme (U)
hal (U)
shared-mime-info

Free Ekanayaka <freee@debian.org>
twisted (U)
twisted-conch (U)
twisted-runner (U)

Rene Engelhard <rene@debian.org>
dictionaries-common (U)
libreoffice (U)

Sean Finney <seanius@debian.org>
php5 (U)

Raphael Geissert <geissert@debian.org>
lintian (U)
php5 (U)
readahead-fedora

Michael Gilbert <michael.s.gilbert@gmail.com>
protoaculous
xpdf

Julian Gilbey <jdg@debian.org>
tex-common (U)

Henning Glawe <glaweh@debian.org>
pdl

Oliver Grawert <ogra@ubuntu.com>
ltsp (U)

GOsa packages maintainers group <gosa-pkg@oss.gonicus.de>
gosa

Andreas Henriksson <andreas@fatal.se>
rygel (U)

Magnus Holmgren <holmgren@debian.org>
pike7.8

Mike Hommey <glandium@debian.org>
iceape (U)

Thomas Hood <jdthood@gmail.com>
resolvconf (U)

Theppitak Karoonboonyanan <thep@debian.org>
thailatex

Georges Khaznadar <georgesk@ofset.org>
wims

Thijs Kinkhorst <thijs@debian.org>
php5 (U)

Bastian Kleineidam <calvin@debian.org>
python-central (U)

Julian Andres Klode <jak@debian.org>
packagekit (U)
software-center

Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
python-central
twisted
twisted-conch
twisted-runner

Matthias Klumpp <matthias@nlinux.org>
packagekit

Atsuhito KOHDA <kohda@debian.org>
tex-common (U)

Frank Küster <frank@debian.org>
tex-common (U)
texinfo (U)

Carlos Laviola <claviola@debian.org>
ltsp (U)

Frank Lichtenheld <djpig@debian.org>
lintian (U)

LTSP Debian/Ubuntu Maintainers <pkg-ltsp-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
ltsp

Robert Luberda <robert@debian.org>
doc-base

Marc-André Lureau <marcandre.lureau@gmail.com>
rygel (U)

Camm Maguire <camm@debian.org>
maxima

Debian Lintian Maintainers <lintian-maint@debian.org>
lintian

Maintainers of Mozilla-related packages <pkg-mozilla-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
iceape

Debian Rygel Maintainers <ah-rygel@debian.org>
rygel

Debian VMware Maintainers <vmware@lists.debian-maintainers.org>
open-vm-tools

Noah Meyerhans <noahm@debian.org>
spamassassin

Loic Minier <lool@dooz.org>
desktop-file-utils (U)
glib2.0
hicolor-icon-theme (U)
vlc (U)

Emilio Pozuelo Monfort <pochu@debian.org>
gconf (U)
gdk-pixbuf (U)
glib2.0 (U)
gnome-icon-theme (U)
gnome-menus (U)

Christophe Monniez <christophe.monniez@fccu.be>
unhide (U)

Josselin Mouette <joss@debian.org>
desktop-file-utils (U)
fontconfig (U)
gconf
gdk-pixbuf (U)
glib2.0 (U)
gnome-icon-theme
gnome-menus (U)
hicolor-icon-theme (U)
python-support

Christophe Mutricy <xtophe@videolan.org>
vlc (U)

Matthijs Möhlmann <matthijs@cacholong.nl>
pdns

Y Giridhar Appaji Nag <appaji@debian.org>
ccache

Marco Nenciarini <mnencia@debian.org>
resolvconf (U)

Ryan Niebur <ryanryan52@gmail.com>
ltsp (U)

Piotr Ożarowski <piotr@debian.org>
python-support (U)

Sam Hocevar (Debian packages) <sam+deb@zoy.org>
vlc (U)

Keith Packard <keithp@debian.org>
fontconfig

Kari Pahula <kaol@debian.org>
ghc6

Thibaut Paumard <paumard@users.sourceforge.net>
yorick

Frederic Peters <fpeters@debian.org>
gnome-icon-theme (U)

Martin Pitt <mpitt@debian.org>
cracklib2 (U)
postgresql-common

Cajus Pollmeier <cajus@debian.org>
gosa (U)

Norbert Preining <preining@debian.org>
tex-common (U)
texinfo (U)

Michael Prokop <mika@debian.org>
initramfs-tools (U)

Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>
icecc (U)

Python Applications Packaging Team <python-apps-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
ibid

Petter Reinholdtsen <pere@debian.org>
ltsp (U)

resolvconf maintainers <resolvconf-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
resolvconf

Stefano Rivera <stefanor@debian.org>
ibid (U)

Josip Rodin <joy-packages@debian.org>
lintian (U)

Joel Rosdahl <joel@debian.org>
ccache (U)

Florent Rougon <frn@debian.org>
tex-common (U)

Darren Salt <linux@youmustbejoking.demon.co.uk>
gxine
xine-ui

Philippe Seewer <philippe.seewer@bfh.ch>
dracut

Jo Shields <directhex@apebox.org>
mono (U)

Sjoerd Simons <sjoerd@debian.org>
gconf (U)
glib2.0 (U)
hal (U)

Clément Stenac <zorglub@debian.org>
vlc (U)

Jamie Strandboge <jamie@ubuntu.com>
ufw

Ondřej Surý <ondrej@debian.org>
desktop-file-utils (U)
php5 (U)

Reinhard Tartler <siretart@tauware.de>
gxine (U)
vlc (U)

Niels Thykier <niels@thykier.net>
lintian (U)

Mohammed Adnène Trojette <adn+deb@diwi.org>
vlc (U)

Utopia Maintenance Team <pkg-utopia-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
hal

Julien Valroff <julien@debian.org>
rkhunter (U)
unhide (U)
unhide.rb (U)

Colin Watson <cjwatson@debian.org>
lintian (U)
man-db

Thomas Weber <tweber@debian.org>
octave3.2 (U)

Jeroen van Wolffelaar <jeroen@wolffelaar.nl>
lintian (U)

Bernd Zeimetz <bzed@debian.org>
python-support (U)


--
Raphaël Hertzog ◈ Debian Developer

Follow my Debian News ▶ http://RaphaelHertzog.com (English)
▶ http://RaphaelHertzog.fr (Français)


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-dpkg-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: 20110603082423.GA17524@rivendell.home.ouaza.com">h ttp://lists.debian.org/20110603082423.GA17524@rivendell.home.ouaza.com
 
Old 06-03-2011, 08:24 AM
Raphael Hertzog
 
Default The trigger in your Debian packages

Hello,

you're maintaining a Debian package which provides a trigger file.
Currently a package that "activates" a trigger is put in the
"triggers-awaited" status where it doesn't fulfill dependencies.
The trigger must first be processed and only then is the package
considered as "installed".

I believe that the vast majority of triggers do not provide a
functionality that is so important as to require that the triggering
package be put in that status. Thus I'm considering to change this
and to introduce new trigger directives that would keep the old
behaviour.

I need your help to identify the set of package which would have to
use the new directives, if I decide to introduce this incompatible change.
My recent mail to -devel[1] only suggested "ghc6" so I'm asking all the
maintainers directly this time.

[1] http://lists.debian.org/debian-devel/2011/05/msg01180.html

Please reply for the packages that you maintain to the question that
concerns you:

1/ If your package uses the "interest" directive in the triggers files,
is it important that the "triggering" packages that activate your triggers
be considered as not configured (and thus not satisfying dependencies)
until the trigger has been processed?

2/ If your package uses the "activate" directive, is it important that
your package be considered as not configured (and thus not satisfying
dependencies) until the trigger has been processed?


I have put "no" as answer for the "install-info" and "man-db" packages.
For the others, I would like you to answer explicitly yes or no with a
short rationale. If you don't know what to answer, please reply describing
what your trigger does, and we'll try to find out through discussion.

To make it easier to find the packages that concerns you, I have put a
dd-list below.

Thanks for your help!


Ying-Chun Liu (PaulLiu) <paulliu@debian.org>
clutter-imcontext
libomxil-bellagio

Russ Allbery <rra@debian.org>
lintian (U)
nvidia-graphics-drivers (U)

Bill Allombert <ballombe@debian.org>
gap
menu

Henrik Andreasson <debian@han.pp.se>
pike7.8 (U)

Osamu Aoki <osamu@debian.org>
xpdf (U)

maximilian attems <maks@debian.org>
initramfs-tools (U)

Sebastien Bacher <seb128@debian.org>
gnome-menus

Adam D. Barratt <adam@adam-barratt.org.uk>
lintian (U)

Mirco Bauer <meebey@debian.org>
mono (U)

Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
live-boot (U)
open-vm-tools (U)
plymouth (U)

Daniel Baumann <daniel@lists.debian-maintainers.org>
plymouth

Daniel Baumann <daniel.baumann@progress-technologies.net>
ntfs-3g

Andreas Beckmann <debian@abeckmann.de>
nvidia-graphics-drivers (U)

Vincent Bernat <bernat@debian.org>
nevow

Michael Biebl <biebl@debian.org>
hal (U)

Laurent Bigonville <bigon@debian.org>
gdk-pixbuf (U)

Fathi Boudra <fabo@debian.org>
icecc (U)

Nicholas Breen <nbreen@ofb.net>
grace

Joachim Breitner <nomeata@debian.org>
ghc6 (U)

Marc 'HE' Brockschmidt <he@debian.org>
gnome-menus (U)
lintian (U)

Rob Browning <rlb@defaultvalue.org>
guile-1.8

Ross Burton <ross@debian.org>
desktop-file-utils
hicolor-icon-theme

Vagrant Cascadian <vagrant@debian.org>
ltsp (U)

Jesus Climent <jesus.climent@hispalinux.es>
spamassassin (U)

C.M. Connelly <cmc@debian.org>
tex-common (U)

Debian Forensics <forensics-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
rkhunter
unhide
unhide.rb

Debian GNOME Maintainers <pkg-gnome-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
gconf (U)
gdk-pixbuf
glib2.0 (U)
gnome-icon-theme (U)
gnome-menus (U)
hicolor-icon-theme (U)

Debian KDE Extras Team <pkg-kde-extras@lists.alioth.debian.org>
icecc

Debian kernel team <debian-kernel@lists.debian.org>
initramfs-tools

Debian LibreOffice Maintainers <debian-openoffice@lists.debian.org>
libreoffice

Debian Live Project <debian-live@lists.debian.org>
live-boot

Debian Mono Group <pkg-mono-group@lists.alioth.debian.org>
mono

Debian multimedia packages maintainers <pkg-multimedia-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
vlc

Debian NVIDIA Maintainers <pkg-nvidia-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
nvidia-graphics-drivers

Debian Octave Group <pkg-octave-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
octave3.2

Debian PHP Maintainers <pkg-php-maint@lists.alioth.debian.org>
php5

Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
nevow (U)

Debian TeX maintainers <debian-tex-maint@lists.debian.org>
tex-common
texinfo

Jan Dittberner <jandd@debian.org>
cracklib2

Agustin Martin Domingo <agmartin@debian.org>
dictionaries-common

Benjamin Drung <bdrung@debian.org>
vlc (U)

Sebastian Dröge <slomo@debian.org>
gconf (U)
gdk-pixbuf (U)
glib2.0 (U)
gnome-icon-theme (U)
hal (U)
shared-mime-info

Free Ekanayaka <freee@debian.org>
twisted (U)
twisted-conch (U)
twisted-runner (U)

Rene Engelhard <rene@debian.org>
dictionaries-common (U)
libreoffice (U)

Sean Finney <seanius@debian.org>
php5 (U)

Raphael Geissert <geissert@debian.org>
lintian (U)
php5 (U)
readahead-fedora

Michael Gilbert <michael.s.gilbert@gmail.com>
protoaculous
xpdf

Julian Gilbey <jdg@debian.org>
tex-common (U)

Henning Glawe <glaweh@debian.org>
pdl

Oliver Grawert <ogra@ubuntu.com>
ltsp (U)

GOsa packages maintainers group <gosa-pkg@oss.gonicus.de>
gosa

Andreas Henriksson <andreas@fatal.se>
rygel (U)

Magnus Holmgren <holmgren@debian.org>
pike7.8

Mike Hommey <glandium@debian.org>
iceape (U)

Thomas Hood <jdthood@gmail.com>
resolvconf (U)

Theppitak Karoonboonyanan <thep@debian.org>
thailatex

Georges Khaznadar <georgesk@ofset.org>
wims

Thijs Kinkhorst <thijs@debian.org>
php5 (U)

Bastian Kleineidam <calvin@debian.org>
python-central (U)

Julian Andres Klode <jak@debian.org>
packagekit (U)
software-center

Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
python-central
twisted
twisted-conch
twisted-runner

Matthias Klumpp <matthias@nlinux.org>
packagekit

Atsuhito KOHDA <kohda@debian.org>
tex-common (U)

Frank Küster <frank@debian.org>
tex-common (U)
texinfo (U)

Carlos Laviola <claviola@debian.org>
ltsp (U)

Frank Lichtenheld <djpig@debian.org>
lintian (U)

LTSP Debian/Ubuntu Maintainers <pkg-ltsp-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
ltsp

Robert Luberda <robert@debian.org>
doc-base

Marc-André Lureau <marcandre.lureau@gmail.com>
rygel (U)

Camm Maguire <camm@debian.org>
maxima

Debian Lintian Maintainers <lintian-maint@debian.org>
lintian

Maintainers of Mozilla-related packages <pkg-mozilla-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
iceape

Debian Rygel Maintainers <ah-rygel@debian.org>
rygel

Debian VMware Maintainers <vmware@lists.debian-maintainers.org>
open-vm-tools

Noah Meyerhans <noahm@debian.org>
spamassassin

Loic Minier <lool@dooz.org>
desktop-file-utils (U)
glib2.0
hicolor-icon-theme (U)
vlc (U)

Emilio Pozuelo Monfort <pochu@debian.org>
gconf (U)
gdk-pixbuf (U)
glib2.0 (U)
gnome-icon-theme (U)
gnome-menus (U)

Christophe Monniez <christophe.monniez@fccu.be>
unhide (U)

Josselin Mouette <joss@debian.org>
desktop-file-utils (U)
fontconfig (U)
gconf
gdk-pixbuf (U)
glib2.0 (U)
gnome-icon-theme
gnome-menus (U)
hicolor-icon-theme (U)
python-support

Christophe Mutricy <xtophe@videolan.org>
vlc (U)

Matthijs Möhlmann <matthijs@cacholong.nl>
pdns

Y Giridhar Appaji Nag <appaji@debian.org>
ccache

Marco Nenciarini <mnencia@debian.org>
resolvconf (U)

Ryan Niebur <ryanryan52@gmail.com>
ltsp (U)

Piotr Ożarowski <piotr@debian.org>
python-support (U)

Sam Hocevar (Debian packages) <sam+deb@zoy.org>
vlc (U)

Keith Packard <keithp@debian.org>
fontconfig

Kari Pahula <kaol@debian.org>
ghc6

Thibaut Paumard <paumard@users.sourceforge.net>
yorick

Frederic Peters <fpeters@debian.org>
gnome-icon-theme (U)

Martin Pitt <mpitt@debian.org>
cracklib2 (U)
postgresql-common

Cajus Pollmeier <cajus@debian.org>
gosa (U)

Norbert Preining <preining@debian.org>
tex-common (U)
texinfo (U)

Michael Prokop <mika@debian.org>
initramfs-tools (U)

Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>
icecc (U)

Python Applications Packaging Team <python-apps-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
ibid

Petter Reinholdtsen <pere@debian.org>
ltsp (U)

resolvconf maintainers <resolvconf-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
resolvconf

Stefano Rivera <stefanor@debian.org>
ibid (U)

Josip Rodin <joy-packages@debian.org>
lintian (U)

Joel Rosdahl <joel@debian.org>
ccache (U)

Florent Rougon <frn@debian.org>
tex-common (U)

Darren Salt <linux@youmustbejoking.demon.co.uk>
gxine
xine-ui

Philippe Seewer <philippe.seewer@bfh.ch>
dracut

Jo Shields <directhex@apebox.org>
mono (U)

Sjoerd Simons <sjoerd@debian.org>
gconf (U)
glib2.0 (U)
hal (U)

Clément Stenac <zorglub@debian.org>
vlc (U)

Jamie Strandboge <jamie@ubuntu.com>
ufw

Ondřej Surý <ondrej@debian.org>
desktop-file-utils (U)
php5 (U)

Reinhard Tartler <siretart@tauware.de>
gxine (U)
vlc (U)

Niels Thykier <niels@thykier.net>
lintian (U)

Mohammed Adnène Trojette <adn+deb@diwi.org>
vlc (U)

Utopia Maintenance Team <pkg-utopia-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
hal

Julien Valroff <julien@debian.org>
rkhunter (U)
unhide (U)
unhide.rb (U)

Colin Watson <cjwatson@debian.org>
lintian (U)
man-db

Thomas Weber <tweber@debian.org>
octave3.2 (U)

Jeroen van Wolffelaar <jeroen@wolffelaar.nl>
lintian (U)

Bernd Zeimetz <bzed@debian.org>
python-support (U)


--
Raphaël Hertzog ◈ Debian Developer

Follow my Debian News ▶ http://RaphaelHertzog.com (English)
▶ http://RaphaelHertzog.fr (Français)


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-kernel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: 20110603082423.GA17524@rivendell.home.ouaza.com">h ttp://lists.debian.org/20110603082423.GA17524@rivendell.home.ouaza.com
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35 AM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org