FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Debian > Debian Development

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 09-23-2012, 11:49 AM
Jakub Wilk
 
Default Packages removing alternatives on upgrade

Many packages remove alternatives on upgrade, only to re-add them later,
potentially discarding manual choices of the user.


See also bug #71621.

--
Jakub Wilk
Aaron M. Ucko <ucko@debian.org>
ncbi-tools-x11 (U)

Abou Al Montacir <abou.almontacir@sfr.fr>
fp-compiler-2.6.0 (U)
fp-ide-2.6.0 (U)
fp-utils-2.6.0 (U)

Adam Borowski <kilobyte@angband.pl>
chameleon-cursor-theme

Alberto Garcia <agarcia@igalia.com>
fuse-emulator-gtk
fuse-emulator-sdl

Albin Tonnerre <lutin@debian.org>
e17 (U)

Alejandro Rios P. <alerios@debian.org>
op-panel (U)

Alexander Sack <asac@jwsdot.com>
browser-plugin-gnash (U)

Alexander Zangerl <az@debian.org>
gnuserv

Andrew Lee (李健秋) <ajqlee@debian.org>
lxsession (U)
lxterminal (U)

Aron Xu <aron@debian.org>
fcitx (U)

Asias He <asias.hejun@gmail.com>
ibus (U)

Barry Hawkins <barry@alltc.com>
liblucene2-java (U)

Bdale Garbee <bdale@gag.com>
dump

Cameron Dale <camrdale@gmail.com>
bittornado
bittornado-gui

Carlos Laviola <claviola@debian.org>
fp-compiler-2.6.0
fp-ide-2.6.0
fp-utils-2.6.0

Changwoo Ryu <cwryu@debian.org>
imhangul-common (U)
nabi (U)
qimhangul-qt4 (U)

Chris Boyle <cmb@debian.org>
aewm++
sapphire

Chris Lawrence <lawrencc@debian.org>
pybliographer

Christophe Monniez <christophe.monniez@fccu.be>
sleuthkit (U)

Ciaran Anscomb <evilwm@6809.org.uk>
evilwm

Clint Adams <clint@debian.org>
freeciv-client-gtk (U)
freeciv-client-sdl (U)
freeciv-client-xaw3d (U)

Cristian Greco <cristian@regolo.cc>
sleuthkit (U)

Daiki Ueno <ueno@unixuser.org>
ibus (U)

Damien Raude-Morvan <drazzib@debian.org>
icedtea-6-plugin (U)
icedtea-7-plugin (U)

Daniel Baumann <daniel.baumann@progress-technologies.net>
traceroute

Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
lxsession (U)
lxterminal (U)

Daniel Moerner <dmoerner@gmail.com>
scheme48

Daniel Schepler <schepler@debian.org>
xzip

David Paleino <dapal@debian.org>
webkit-image-gtk
webkit-image-qt

Debian Flash Maintainers <pkg-flash-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
browser-plugin-lightspark

Debian Flash Team <pkg-flash-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
browser-plugin-gnash

Debian Forensics <forensics-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
sleuthkit

Debian freesmartphone.org Team <pkg-fso-maint@lists.alioth.debian.org>
vala-terminal

Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
freeciv-client-gtk
freeciv-client-sdl
freeciv-client-xaw3d
gargoyle-free
love
nethack-console
nethack-x11
yabause-gtk
yabause-qt

Debian GNOME Maintainers <pkg-gnome-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
gedit

Debian Haskell Group <pkg-haskell-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
ghc

Debian Java Maintainers <pkg-java-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
ecj
liblucene2-java

Debian Korean L10N <debian-l10n-korean@lists.debian.org>
imhangul-common
nabi
qimhangul-qt4

Debian LXDE Maintainers <lxde-debian@lists.lxde.org>
lxsession
lxterminal

Debian Med Packaging Team <debian-med-packaging@lists.alioth.debian.org>
ncbi-tools-x11

Debian Pkg-e Team <pkg-e-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
e17

Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
elvis
elvis-console
elvis-tools
ircii

Debian Tcl/Tk Packagers <pkg-tcltk-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
tcl
tk

Debian VoIP Team <pkg-voip-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
op-panel

Didier Raboud <odyx@debian.org>
browser-plugin-lightspark (U)

Eduard Bloch <blade@debian.org>
icewm
icewm-experimental
icewm-lite

Emilio Pozuelo Monfort <pochu@debian.org>
valac-0.14 (U)
valac-0.16 (U)

Erik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
ghc (U)

Erik Schanze <eriks@debian.org>
unrar-free (U)

Evgeni Golov <evgeni@debian.org>
yabause-gtk (U)
yabause-qt (U)

Francesco Paolo Lovergine <frankie@debian.org>
tcl (U)
tk (U)

Gabriele Giacone <1o5g4r8o@gmail.com>
browser-plugin-gnash (U)

Giuseppe Iuculano <giuseppe@iuculano.it>
tcptraceroute

GOTO Masanori <gotom@debian.org>
lv

HIGUCHI Daisuke (VDR dai) <dai@debian.org>
uim-xim

IME Packaging Team <pkg-ime-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
fcitx
gcin
hime
ibus

Jan Lübbe <jluebbe@debian.org>
e17 (U)

Jari Aalto <jari.aalto@cante.net>
jwm
leafpad
levee

Jeff Breidenbach <jab@debian.org>
liblucene2-java (U)

Jelmer Vernooij <jelmer@debian.org>
tdb-tools

Joachim Breitner <nomeata@debian.org>
ghc (U)
vala-terminal (U)

Joachim Wiedorn <ad_debian@joonet.de>
libfox-1.6-dev

Joerg Jaspert <joerg@debian.org>
muddleftpd

Jordi Mallach <jordi@debian.org>
freeciv-client-gtk (U)
freeciv-client-sdl (U)
freeciv-client-xaw3d (U)

Josip Rodin <joy-packages@debian.org>
maildrop

Josselin Mouette <joss@debian.org>
gedit (U)

Karl Goetz <karl@kgoetz.id.au>
freeciv-client-gtk (U)
freeciv-client-sdl (U)
freeciv-client-xaw3d (U)

Keita Maehara <maehara@debian.org>
kinput2-canna
kinput2-canna-wnn
kinput2-wnn

Kenshi Muto <kmuto@debian.org>
im-switch (U)

Kilian Krause <kilian@debian.org>
op-panel (U)

Kiwamu Okabe <kiwamu@debian.or.jp>
uim-xim (U)

Krystian Wlosek <kwlosek@gmail.com>
z88dk-bin

Kurt Roeckx <kurt@roeckx.be>
epic4
epic4-script-lice
epic5
epic5-script-lice

Lennart Weller <lhw@ring0.de>
libtxc-dxtn-s2tc0

LI Daobing <lidaobing@debian.org>
ibus (U)

Lincoln de Sousa <lincoln@minaslivre.org>
fcmp

Loic Minier <lool@dooz.org>
valac-0.14 (U)
valac-0.16 (U)

Luca Bruno <lucab@debian.org>
uzbl

Maintainers of Vala packages <pkg-vala-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
valac-0.14
valac-0.16

Marc-Andre Lureau <marcandre.lureau@gmail.com>
valac-0.14 (U)
valac-0.16 (U)

Marcin Owsiany <porridge@debian.org>
potool

Mark Brown <broonie@debian.org>
fort77

Martin Zobel-Helas <zobel@debian.org>
tcptraceroute (U)

Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
bash
ecj (U)
fastjar

Matthias Klose <doko@ubuntu.com>
icedtea-6-plugin (U)
icedtea-7-plugin (U)

Michael Biebl <biebl@debian.org>
gedit (U)

Michael Janssen <jamuraa@debian.org>
bittorrent
bittorrent-gui

Michael Koch <konqueror@gmx.de>
liblucene2-java (U)

Michael Piefel <piefel@debian.org>
tkinfo

Michal Čihař <nijel@debian.org>
geeqie

Miriam Ruiz <little_miry@yahoo.es>
browser-plugin-gnash (U)
love (U)

Nanakos Chrysostomos <nanakos@wired-net.gr>
mpg321

Neil Roeth <neil@debian.org>
openjade
openjade1.3

Neutron Soutmun <neo.neutron@gmail.com>
xiterm+thai

Niko Tyni <ntyni@debian.org>
jzip

Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <iwamatsu@debian.org>
uim-xim (U)

Olly Betts <olly@survex.com>
libwxbase2.8-dbg (U)
libwxbase2.8-dev (U)
libwxgtk2.8-dbg (U)
libwxgtk2.8-dev (U)
python-wxgtk2.8 (U)

OpenJDK Team <openjdk@lists.launchpad.net>
icedtea-6-plugin
icedtea-7-plugin

Osamu Aoki <osamu@debian.org>
ibus (U)
im-switch
maildrop (U)

Paweł Więcek <coven@debian.org>
pgpgpg

Pedro Ribeiro <p.m42.ribeiro@gmail.com>
poedit

Peter Michael Green <plugwash@debian.org>
fp-compiler-2.6.0 (U)
fp-ide-2.6.0 (U)
fp-utils-2.6.0 (U)

Philipp Kaluza <debian@ghostroute.eu>
vala-terminal (U)

Piotr Roszatycki <dexter@debian.org>
z88dk-bin (U)

Rene Engelhard <rene@debian.org>
liblucene2-java (U)

Rolf Leggewie <foss@rolf.leggewie.biz>
scim

Ron Lee <ron@debian.org>
libwxbase2.8-dbg (U)
libwxbase2.8-dev (U)
libwxgtk2.8-dbg (U)
libwxgtk2.8-dev (U)
python-wxgtk2.8 (U)

Russ Allbery <rra@debian.org>
krb5-clients (U)

Ryan Niebur <ryan@debian.org>
libwxbase2.8-dbg (U)
libwxbase2.8-dev (U)
libwxgtk2.8-dbg (U)
libwxgtk2.8-dev (U)
python-wxgtk2.8 (U)

Sam Hartman <hartmans@debian.org>
krb5-clients

Sebastian Dröge <slomo@debian.org>
valac-0.14 (U)
valac-0.16 (U)

Sebastian Reichel <sre@debian.org>
libtxc-dxtn-s2tc0 (U)
vala-terminal (U)
valac-0.14 (U)
valac-0.16 (U)

Sergei Golovan <sgolovan@debian.org>
tcl (U)
tk (U)

Shane Wegner <shane@debian.org>
orville-write

Simon Kelley <simon@thekelleys.org.uk>
dhcpcd

Sjoerd Simons <sjoerd@debian.org>
valac-0.14 (U)
valac-0.16 (U)

Stefan Hornburg (Racke) <racke@linuxia.de>
courier-base
courier-mta

Steinar H. Gunderson <sesse@debian.org>
pvm

Sylvain Beucler <beuc@debian.org>
gargoyle-free (U)

Teruyuki Morimura <morimura@debian.org>
jvim-canna

Thomas Lange <lange@debian.org>
tcsh

Tim Retout <diocles@debian.org>
browser-plugin-gnash (U)

Toni Mueller <toni@debian.org>
scim (U)

tony mancill <tmancill@debian.org>
levee (U)

Torsten Werner <twerner@debian.org>
fp-compiler-2.6.0 (U)
fp-ide-2.6.0 (U)
fp-utils-2.6.0 (U)

Trent W. Buck <trentbuck@gmail.com>
mg

Tz-Huan Huang <tzhuan@gmail.com>
scim (U)

Tzafrir Cohen <tzafrir@debian.org>
op-panel (U)

Vincent Cheng <Vincentc1208@gmail.com>
nethack-console (U)
nethack-x11 (U)

Vincent Legout <vlegout@debian.org>
qalculate-gtk

Vincent Sanders <vince@debian.org>
netsurf

wxWidgets Maintainers <freewx-maint@lists.alioth.debian.org>
libwxbase2.8-dbg
libwxbase2.8-dev
libwxgtk2.8-dbg
libwxgtk2.8-dev
python-wxgtk2.8

Yann Dirson <dirson@debian.org>
ftjam
jam

Yao Wei (*銘廷) <mwei@lxde.org>
gcin (U)
hime (U)
lxterminal (U)

Ying-Chun Liu (PaulLiu) <paulliu@debian.org>
jlha-utils
unrar-free

YunQiang Su <wzssyqa@gmail.com>
fcitx (U)

Zhengpeng Hou <zhengpeng-hou@ubuntu.com>
ibus (U)
 
Old 09-23-2012, 11:56 AM
Josselin Mouette
 
Default Packages removing alternatives on upgrade

Le dimanche 23 septembre 2012 * 13:49 +0200, Jakub Wilk a écrit :
> Many packages remove alternatives on upgrade, only to re-add them later,
> potentially discarding manual choices of the user.

Thanks for the report.

> Josselin Mouette <joss@debian.org>
> gedit (U)

I’ve fixed it in the SVN.

--
.'`. Josselin Mouette
: :' :
`. `'
`-


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: http://lists.debian.org/1348401369.2606.0.camel@tomoyo
 
Old 09-23-2012, 03:40 PM
Ivan Shmakov
 
Default Packages removing alternatives on upgrade

>>>>> Jakub Wilk <jwilk@debian.org> writes:

[Cross-posting to packages@qa, for elvis is maintained by the QA
group.]

> Many packages remove alternatives on upgrade, only to re-add them
> later, potentially discarding manual choices of the user.

> See also bug #71621.

[…]

> Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
> elvis
> elvis-console
> elvis-tools
> ircii

[…]

BTW, do I understand it correctly that it's just a matter of
dropping the ‘upgrade’ case from .prerm? (Possible patch
MIME'd.)

TIA.

--
FSF associate member #7257
 
Old 10-06-2012, 06:06 PM
tony mancill
 
Default Packages removing alternatives on upgrade

On 09/23/2012 08:40 AM, Ivan Shmakov wrote:
>>>>>> Jakub Wilk <jwilk@debian.org> writes:
>
> [Cross-posting to packages@qa, for elvis is maintained by the QA
> group.]
>
> > Many packages remove alternatives on upgrade, only to re-add them
> > later, potentially discarding manual choices of the user.
>
> > See also bug #71621.
>
> […]
>
> > Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
> > elvis
> > elvis-console
> > elvis-tools
> > ircii
>
> […]
>
> BTW, do I understand it correctly that it's just a matter of
> dropping the ‘upgrade’ case from .prerm? (Possible patch
> MIME'd.)
>
> TIA.
>
>
>
>
> --- debian/elvis-console.prerm.~1~ 2012-09-23 13:34:49.000000000 +0000
> +++ debian/elvis-console.prerm 2012-09-23 15:24:02.000000000 +0000
> @@ -3,7 +3,7 @@
> set -e
>
> case "$1" in
> - upgrade|remove|deconfigure)
> + remove|deconfigure)
> for app in editor ex input vi view; do
> update-alternatives --quiet --remove "$app" /usr/bin/elvis
> done
> --- debian/elvis.prerm.~1~ 2012-09-23 13:34:49.000000000 +0000
> +++ debian/elvis.prerm 2012-09-23 15:24:02.000000000 +0000
> @@ -3,7 +3,7 @@
> set -e
>
> case "$1" in
> - upgrade|remove|deconfigure)
> + remove|deconfigure)
> for app in editor ex input vi view; do
> update-alternatives --quiet --remove "$app" /usr/bin/elvisnox
> done
> --- debian/elvis-tools.prerm.~1~ 2012-09-23 13:34:49.000000000 +0000
> +++ debian/elvis-tools.prerm 2012-09-23 15:24:02.000000000 +0000
> @@ -3,7 +3,7 @@
> set -e
>
> case "$1" in
> - upgrade|remove|deconfigure)
> + remove|deconfigure)
> update-alternatives --quiet --remove ctags /usr/bin/elvtags
> ;;
> failed-upgrade)

Can someone confirm that Ivan's proposed patch is the correct way to
deal with this problem? I have the same issue in some of my packages.

Thank you,
tony
 
Old 10-06-2012, 08:15 PM
Russ Allbery
 
Default Packages removing alternatives on upgrade

tony mancill <tmancill@debian.org> writes:
> On 09/23/2012 08:40 AM, Ivan Shmakov wrote:

>> BTW, do I understand it correctly that it's just a matter of
>> dropping the ‘upgrade’ case from .prerm? (Possible patch
>> MIME'd.)

[...]

>> --- debian/elvis-tools.prerm.~1~ 2012-09-23 13:34:49.000000000 +0000
>> +++ debian/elvis-tools.prerm 2012-09-23 15:24:02.000000000 +0000
>> @@ -3,7 +3,7 @@
>> set -e
>>
>> case "$1" in
>> - upgrade|remove|deconfigure)
>> + remove|deconfigure)
>> update-alternatives --quiet --remove ctags /usr/bin/elvtags
>> ;;
>> failed-upgrade)

> Can someone confirm that Ivan's proposed patch is the correct way to
> deal with this problem? I have the same issue in some of my packages.

It's an improvement. Guillem makes a good argument that you should drop
deconfigure as well, which means that:

if [ "$1" = "remove" ] ; then
update-alternatives --remove <foo> <path-to-foo>
fi

is probably the best thing to use right now. See:

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=71621

near the bottom for more discussion. (Note that while common, I've never
been fond of that case statement construction, since it means that we
can't introduce new maintainer script actions without modifying lots of
maintainer scripts that may not need to be modified otherwise.)

--
Russ Allbery (rra@debian.org) <http://www.eyrie.org/~eagle/>


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: 877gr3s6gh.fsf@windlord.stanford.edu">http://lists.debian.org/877gr3s6gh.fsf@windlord.stanford.edu
 
Old 10-08-2012, 04:29 AM
Ivan Shmakov
 
Default Packages removing alternatives on upgrade

>>>>> Russ Allbery <rra@debian.org> writes:

[…]

> It's an improvement. Guillem makes a good argument that you should
> drop deconfigure as well, which means that:

> if [ "$1" = "remove" ] ; then
> update-alternatives --remove <foo> <path-to-foo>
> fi

> is probably the best thing to use right now.

[…]

> (Note that while common, I've never been fond of that case statement
> construction, since it means that we can't introduce new maintainer
> script actions without modifying lots of maintainer scripts that may
> not need to be modified otherwise.)

? How is the ‘if’ statement above different to, say:

case "$1" in
(remove)
update-alternatives --remove <foo> <path-to-foo>
;;
esac

--
FSF associate member #7257


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: 86wqz1k2nb.fsf@gray.siamics.net">http://lists.debian.org/86wqz1k2nb.fsf@gray.siamics.net
 
Old 10-08-2012, 04:41 AM
Russ Allbery
 
Default Packages removing alternatives on upgrade

Ivan Shmakov <oneingray@gmail.com> writes:

> ? How is the ‘if’ statement above different to, say:

> case "$1" in
> (remove)
> update-alternatives --remove <foo> <path-to-foo>
> ;;
> esac

It's not; what it *is* different from is the more common case
construction, which instead looks like:

case "$1" in
(remove)
update-alternatives --remove <foo> <path-to-foo>
;;
(upgrade|failed-upgrade|deconfigure)
;;
(*)
echo "Unknown call $@" >&2
exit 1
;;
esac

If the case doesn't have that default case, it doesn't have this problem,
but when you see the case statement, you usually see that form.

--
Russ Allbery (rra@debian.org) <http://www.eyrie.org/~eagle/>


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: 877gr1a84e.fsf@windlord.stanford.edu">http://lists.debian.org/877gr1a84e.fsf@windlord.stanford.edu
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org