FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Debian > Debian Development

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 08-19-2011, 11:11 PM
Samuel Thibault
 
Default Please use Architectu linux-any

Hello,

Just a heads-up about Architecture: linux-any. The dd-list below is
a (non-exhaustive!) list of packages that kfreebsd/hurd maintainers
believe are candidates for using it in their debian/control file,
because they are probably not to be ported to non-Linux systems, due to
strong Linux dependency.

Could people below consider using

Architecture: linux-any

instead of

Architecture: any

in their next upload? That would help us cleaning the Not-For-Us manual
list.

Thanks,
Samuel

Peter De Schrijver (p2) <p2@mind.be>
linux-atm

Khalid Aziz <khalid@debian.org>
kexec-tools

Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
btrfs-tools (U)
keyutils (U)

Daniel Baumann <daniel@lists.debian-maintainers.org>
btrfs-tools

Daniel Baumann <daniel.baumann@progress-technologies.net>
keyutils
ntfs-3g

Hilko Bengen <bengen@debian.org>
ulog-acctd

Michael Biebl <biebl@debian.org>
libnl
lksctp-tools

Fathi Boudra <fabo@debian.org>
splashy (U)

Michael Bramer <grisu@debian.org>
liblinux-inotify2-perl

Ard van Breemen <ard@kwaak.net>
vlan

Cyril Brulebois <kibi@debian.org>
xserver-xorg-video-sisusb (U)

Krzysztof Burghardt <krzysztof@burghardt.pl>
esekeyd

Vagrant Cascadian <vagrant@debian.org>
zoneminder (U)

Pierre Chifflier <pollux@debian.org>
nufw

Tzafrir Cohen <tzafrir@debian.org>
dahdi-tools (U)

Console utilities maintainers <pkg-kbd-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
kbd

Debian Chinese Team <chinese-developers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
zhcon

Debian DRBD Maintainers <debian-ha-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
drbd8

Debian GPM Team <pkg-gpm-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
gpm

Debian Hamradio Maintainers <debian-hams@lists.debian.org>
baycomusb
libax25
z8530-utils2

Debian iSCSI Maintainers <pkg-iscsi-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
open-iscsi

Debian mdadm maintainers <pkg-mdadm-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
mdadm

Debian Perl Group <pkg-perl-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
libvideo-capture-v4l-perl

Debian VDR Team <pkg-vdr-dvb-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
linuxtv-dvb-apps
vdr
vdr-plugin-dvd
vdr-plugin-epgsearch
vdr-plugin-femon
vdr-plugin-fritzbox
vdr-plugin-live
vdr-plugin-mp3
vdr-plugin-osdteletext
vdr-plugin-prefermenu
vdr-plugin-remote
vdr-plugin-remoteosd
vdr-plugin-skinenigmang
vdr-plugin-streamdev
vdr-plugin-vcd
vdr-plugin-xineliboutput

Debian VoIP Team <pkg-voip-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
dahdi-tools

Debian X Strike Force <debian-x@lists.debian.org>
xserver-xorg-video-sisusb

Tim Dijkstra <tim@famdijkstra.org>
splashy (U)

Mattia Dongili <malattia@debian.org>
uml-utilities (U)

Gustavo Franco <stratus@debian.org>
kerneltop

Jochen Friedrich <jochen@scram.de>
arptables
ebtables

Gerfried Fuchs <rhonda@debian.org>
beep

Stephane Glondu <steph@glondu.net>
linuxtv-dvb-apps (U)

Tobias Grimm <etobi@debian.org>
linuxtv-dvb-apps (U)
vdr (U)
vdr-plugin-dvd (U)
vdr-plugin-epgsearch (U)
vdr-plugin-femon (U)
vdr-plugin-fritzbox (U)
vdr-plugin-live (U)
vdr-plugin-mp3 (U)
vdr-plugin-osdteletext (U)
vdr-plugin-prefermenu (U)
vdr-plugin-remote (U)
vdr-plugin-remoteosd (U)
vdr-plugin-skinenigmang (U)
vdr-plugin-streamdev (U)
vdr-plugin-vcd (U)
vdr-plugin-xineliboutput (U)

Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
loop-aes-utils

Guido Günther <agx@sigxcpu.org>
open-iscsi (U)

Thomas Günther <tom@toms-cafe.de>
vdr (U)
vdr-plugin-dvd (U)
vdr-plugin-epgsearch (U)
vdr-plugin-femon (U)
vdr-plugin-fritzbox (U)
vdr-plugin-live (U)
vdr-plugin-mp3 (U)
vdr-plugin-osdteletext (U)
vdr-plugin-prefermenu (U)
vdr-plugin-remote (U)
vdr-plugin-remoteosd (U)
vdr-plugin-skinenigmang (U)
vdr-plugin-streamdev (U)
vdr-plugin-vcd (U)
vdr-plugin-xineliboutput (U)

Dominic Hargreaves <dom@earth.li>
libvideo-capture-v4l-perl (U)

gregor herrmann <gregor+debian@comodo.priv.at>
libvideo-ivtv-perl (U)

gregor herrmann <gregoa@debian.org>
libvideo-capture-v4l-perl (U)

Peter Howard <pjh@northern-ridge.com.au>
zoneminder

Philipp Huebner <debalance@debian.org>
btnx
btnx-config

Philipp Hug <debian@hug.cx>
drbd8 (U)
open-iscsi (U)

Max Kellermann <max@duempel.org>
libnetfilter-queue (U)
libnfnetlink (U)

martin f. krafft <madduck@debian.org>
mdadm (U)

Laurence J. Lane <ljlane@debian.org>
iptables

Mario Lang <mlang@debian.org>
screader

Steve Langasek <vorlon@debian.org>
aboot

Ron Lee <ron@debian.org>
xf86-input-wacom

Anders Lennartsson <anders@lennartsson.se>
dov4l

Martin Loschwitz <madkiss@debian.org>
drbd8 (U)

netfilter maintainers <netfilter-maintainers@ned.snow-crash.org>
libnfnetlink

tony mancill <tmancill@debian.org>
libvideo-ivtv-perl

Santiago Garcia Mantinan <manty@debian.org>
bridge-utils

Jonathan McCrohan <jmccrohan@gmail.com>
lcd4linux (U)

Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@debian.org>
console-tools

Loic Minier <lool@dooz.org>
vlan (U)

Hamish Moffatt <hamish@debian.org>
baycomusb (U)
libax25 (U)
z8530-utils2 (U)

Andrew Moise <chops@demiurgestudios.com>
open-iscsi (U)

Luis Mondesi <lemsx1@gmail.com>
splashy (U)

Ryan Niebur <ryan@debian.org>
inotify-tools

Jonathan Niehof <jtniehof@gmail.com>
joy2key

Jan Christoph Nordholz <hesso@pool.math.tu-berlin.de>
ebtables (U)

Patrick Ouellette <pouelle@debian.org>
baycomusb (U)
libax25 (U)
z8530-utils2 (U)

Jiri Palecek <jpalecek@web.de>
ltp

Frederic Peters <fpeters@debian.org>
iptraf

Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>
dahdi-tools (U)
linuxtv-dvb-apps (U)

Jaime Robles <jaime@debian.org>
baycomusb (U)
libax25 (U)
z8530-utils2 (U)

Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>
apmd

Otavio Salvador <otavio@debian.org>
mtd-utils (U)
splashy (U)

Peter Samuelson <peter@p12n.org>
gpm (U)

Ritesh Raj Sarraf <rrs@debian.org>
open-iscsi (U)

Thomas Schmidt <tschmidt@debian.org>
linuxtv-dvb-apps (U)
vdr (U)
vdr-plugin-dvd (U)
vdr-plugin-epgsearch (U)
vdr-plugin-femon (U)
vdr-plugin-fritzbox (U)
vdr-plugin-live (U)
vdr-plugin-mp3 (U)
vdr-plugin-osdteletext (U)
vdr-plugin-prefermenu (U)
vdr-plugin-remote (U)
vdr-plugin-remoteosd (U)
vdr-plugin-skinenigmang (U)
vdr-plugin-streamdev (U)
vdr-plugin-vcd (U)
vdr-plugin-xineliboutput (U)

Andreas Schuldei <andreas@schuldei.org>
uml-utilities (U)

Michael Schutte <michi@debian.org>
kbd (U)

Peter Siering <ps@ctmagazin.de>
vdr-plugin-remote (U)
vdr-plugin-streamdev (U)

Guus Sliepen <guus@debian.org>
inputlirc
libraw1394

Radu Spineanu <radu@debian.org>
fprobe-ulog

Splashy Devel <splashy-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
splashy

Gaudenz Steinlin <gaudenz@debian.org>
mouseemu

Matt Taggart <taggart@debian.org>
cpqarrayd

Reinhard Tartler <siretart@tauware.de>
lcd4linux

Norbert Tretkowski <norbert@tretkowski.de>
drbd8 (U)

Mohammed Adnène Trojette <adn+deb@diwi.org>
gnome-alsamixer

User Mode Linux Maintainers <pkg-uml-pkgs@lists.alioth.debian.org>
uml-utilities

Riku Voipio <riku.voipio@linaro.org>
mtd-utils

Max Vozeler <xam@debian.org>
loop-aes-utils (U)

Torsten Werner <twerner@debian.org>
libcap2

Matthew Wilcox <matthew@wil.cx>
kerneloops

Alexander Wirt <formorer@debian.org>
keepalived
libnetfilter-queue
libnetfilter-queue (U)
libnfnetlink (U)

Aron Xu <aron@debian.org>
zhcon (U)

Felix Zielcke <fzielcke@z-51.de>
reiserfsprogs

Anton Zinoviev <zinoviev@debian.org>
kbd (U)


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: 20110819231140.GJ11357@type.famille.thibault.fr">h ttp://lists.debian.org/20110819231140.GJ11357@type.famille.thibault.fr
 
Old 08-19-2011, 11:27 PM
Steve Langasek
 
Default Please use Architectu linux-any

On Sat, Aug 20, 2011 at 01:11:40AM +0200, Samuel Thibault wrote:
> Hello,
>
> Just a heads-up about Architecture: linux-any. The dd-list below is
> a (non-exhaustive!) list of packages that kfreebsd/hurd maintainers
> believe are candidates for using it in their debian/control file,
> because they are probably not to be ported to non-Linux systems, due to
> strong Linux dependency.
>
> Could people below consider using
>
> Architecture: linux-any
>
> instead of
>
> Architecture: any
>
> in their next upload? That would help us cleaning the Not-For-Us manual
> list.

> Steve Langasek <vorlon@debian.org>
> aboot

Why this one? The Architecture: any parts are generic tools used to create
alpha boot blocks to images in an architecture-independent manner (e.g.,
when generating bootable CD images from a machine of a different
architecture). There's nothing Linux-specific about that at all; it may not
be high on your list of things to port, but it's a porting issue
nonetheless, not a "strong Linux dependency".

--
Steve Langasek Give me a lever long enough and a Free OS
Debian Developer to set it on, and I can move the world.
Ubuntu Developer http://www.debian.org/
slangasek@ubuntu.com vorlon@debian.org
 
Old 08-19-2011, 11:44 PM
Samuel Thibault
 
Default Please use Architectu linux-any

Steve Langasek, le Fri 19 Aug 2011 16:27:40 -0700, a écrit :
> > Steve Langasek <vorlon@debian.org>
> > aboot
>
> Why this one? The Architecture: any parts are generic tools used to create
> alpha boot blocks to images in an architecture-independent manner

Ah, right. Given back, then.

Samuel


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: 20110819234442.GL11357@type.famille.thibault.fr">h ttp://lists.debian.org/20110819234442.GL11357@type.famille.thibault.fr
 
Old 08-20-2011, 05:18 AM
Aron Xu
 
Default Please use Architectu linux-any

On Sat, Aug 20, 2011 at 07:11, Samuel Thibault <sthibault@debian.org> wrote:
> Hello,
>
> Just a heads-up about Architecture: linux-any. The dd-list below is
> a (non-exhaustive!) list of packages that kfreebsd/hurd maintainers
> believe are candidates for using it in their debian/control file,
> because they are probably not to be ported to non-Linux systems, due to
> strong Linux dependency.
>
> Could people below consider using
>
> Architecture: linux-any
>
> instead of
>
> Architecture: any
>
> in their next upload? *That would help us cleaning the Not-For-Us manual
> list.
>
> Thanks,
> Samuel
>
> [...]
>
> Debian Chinese Team <chinese-developers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
> * zhcon
>

zhcon works on FreeBSD 7.x, and before 8.x is out the upstream was
dead. I tried to port it to kfreebsd with some progress, but still not
build/work perfectly. The software still has considerable large user
base, so I would like to continue maintain it for a while.

--
Regards,
Aron Xu


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: CAMr=8w4jd=UE2OcZQ=w6Hmp+R9mRY2ERpXsv8jH+KxfKDqLc3 Q@mail.gmail.com">http://lists.debian.org/CAMr=8w4jd=UE2OcZQ=w6Hmp+R9mRY2ERpXsv8jH+KxfKDqLc3 Q@mail.gmail.com
 
Old 08-20-2011, 10:19 AM
Robert Millan
 
Default Please use Architectu linux-any

2011/8/20 Samuel Thibault <sthibault@debian.org>:
> * ntfs-3g

This is FUSE-based, no reason it can't be ported to GNU/kFreeBSD
AFAICT (I suggest linux-any kfreebsd-any untill Hurd has FUSE).

> Debian Perl Group <pkg-perl-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
> * libvideo-capture-v4l-perl

kFreeBSD has (preliminar) v4l support (I suggest linux-any kfreebsd-any).

> * dov4l

Same here?

> Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@debian.org>
> * console-tools

IIRC this was being ported to GNU/kFreeBSD (by Alastair? I can't remember)

> Felix Zielcke <fzielcke@z-51.de>
> * reiserfsprogs

The description says "user-level tools", it should be portable AFAICT.
Moreover kFreeBSD provides readonly reiserfs support.

--
Robert Millan


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: CAOfDtXMq78iHHO9JxbtQY6LDALtNGs=qtrefNuifUDzrKqYOX Q@mail.gmail.com">http://lists.debian.org/CAOfDtXMq78iHHO9JxbtQY6LDALtNGs=qtrefNuifUDzrKqYOX Q@mail.gmail.com
 
Old 08-20-2011, 11:37 AM
Adam Borowski
 
Default Please use Architectu linux-any

On Sat, Aug 20, 2011 at 01:11:40AM +0200, Samuel Thibault wrote:
> Hello,
>
> Just a heads-up about Architecture: linux-any. The dd-list below is
> a (non-exhaustive!) list of packages that kfreebsd/hurd maintainers
> believe are candidates for using it in their debian/control file,
> because they are probably not to be ported to non-Linux systems, due to
> strong Linux dependency.

> Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
> btrfs-tools

Can be used via fuse. There is no direct module, but you can get read only
support via grub-mount, or rw via some uml thingy whose name eludes me and
my 120-second google-fu.

--
1KB // Yo momma uses IPv4!
 
Old 08-20-2011, 11:50 AM
Samuel Thibault
 
Default Please use Architectu linux-any

Aron Xu, le Sat 20 Aug 2011 13:18:12 +0800, a écrit :
> > Debian Chinese Team <chinese-developers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
> > * zhcon
> >
>
> zhcon works on FreeBSD 7.x,

Oh!? I wouldn't even have expected that, it's a good surprise to me!

> and before 8.x is out the upstream was
> dead. I tried to port it to kfreebsd with some progress,

Ok, keep continuing, and thanks for your work.

Samuel


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: 20110820115056.GX11357@type.famille.thibault.fr">h ttp://lists.debian.org/20110820115056.GX11357@type.famille.thibault.fr
 
Old 08-20-2011, 11:53 AM
Samuel Thibault
 
Default Please use Architectu linux-any

Robert Millan, le Sat 20 Aug 2011 12:19:41 +0200, a écrit :
> > Debian Perl Group <pkg-perl-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
> > * libvideo-capture-v4l-perl
>
> kFreeBSD has (preliminar) v4l support (I suggest linux-any kfreebsd-any).

Ah. A few packages were included in the list due to v4l. If kFreeBSD
grows a v4l interface, then that changes things indeed.

> > * dov4l
>
> Same here?

Yes.

> > Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@debian.org>
> > * console-tools
>
> IIRC this was being ported to GNU/kFreeBSD (by Alastair? I can't remember)

I guess you mean console-setup.

Samuel


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: 20110820115354.GY11357@type.famille.thibault.fr">h ttp://lists.debian.org/20110820115354.GY11357@type.famille.thibault.fr
 
Old 08-20-2011, 02:23 PM
Robert Millan
 
Default Please use Architectu linux-any

2011/8/20 Adam Borowski <kilobyte@angband.pl>:
>> Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
>> * *btrfs-tools
>
> Can be used via fuse. *There is no direct module, but you can get read only
> support via grub-mount, or rw via some uml thingy whose name eludes me and
> my 120-second google-fu.

Does btrfs-tools actually create a file system, or just tells Linux to
do so? If it works like zfsutils, then there's no usable code for
other kernels (but I haven't checked).

--
Robert Millan


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: CAOfDtXNw5O6+qWXD7KkOu7JuyWGFrvjbeqAZVafpvhw9DRPHB Q@mail.gmail.com">http://lists.debian.org/CAOfDtXNw5O6+qWXD7KkOu7JuyWGFrvjbeqAZVafpvhw9DRPHB Q@mail.gmail.com
 
Old 08-20-2011, 11:26 PM
Robert Millan
 
Default Please use Architectu linux-any

2011/8/20 Reinhard Tartler <siretart@debian.org>:
>> kFreeBSD has (preliminar) v4l support (I suggest linux-any kfreebsd-any).
>
> Is this v4l1, which AFAIUI has been removed from Linux upstream AFAIUI,
> or v4l2?

Both. See:

sys/compat/linux/linux_videodev2.h
sys/compat/linux/linux_videodev2_compat.h
sys/compat/linux/linux_videodev.h
sys/compat/linux/linux_videodev_compat.h

in kfreebsd-9 source.

--
Robert Millan


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: CAOfDtXN=Z2QAv+=r_7F_oG5hEihKna-eFVOnf2R8QhuxpUS22A@mail.gmail.com">http://lists.debian.org/CAOfDtXN=Z2QAv+=r_7F_oG5hEihKna-eFVOnf2R8QhuxpUS22A@mail.gmail.com
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:08 AM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright ©2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org