FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Debian > Debian Development

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 02-11-2008, 06:19 PM
Neil Williams
 
Default Progress on the mass bug filing for cross build support.

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/pkgreport.cgi?usertag=codehelp@debian.org

Status
* 38 Outstanding
* 3 Pending Upload
* 23 Resolved

Thanks to all who have already fixed those bugs (nearly 50%!!). I've now
filed all the bugs that I need at this stage to be able to provide a
Gtk/GPE-based Emdebian installation (in less than 50mb installed,
including kernel and modules, hopefully). Closing these bugs will allow
Emdebian to arrange an auto-builder to cross-build these target
packages. (Right now, I'm having to do all the rebuilds manually which
is a bit of a pain, as many here would know.)

The main bugs blocking this are:

439979 -- Please export PKG_CONFIG_LIBDIR in dpkg-buildpackage -a

453267 -- dpkg-shlibdeps: support cross-building by scanning required
directories

450483 -- cdbs: Stop setting DEB_CONFIGURE_SCRIPT_ENV in order to enable
cross-building

448615 -- dh_installdocs : Please consider a separate handler for
debian/copyright for embedded use

Dpkg Developers <debian-dpkg@lists.debian.org>
dpkg

Guillem Jover <guillem@debian.org>
dpkg (U)

Frank Lichtenheld <djpig@debian.org>
dpkg (U)

Brendan O'Dea <bod@debian.org>
dpkg (U)

Christian Perrier <bubulle@debian.org>
dpkg (U)

Marc Dequènes (Duck) <Duck@DuckCorp.org>
cdbs (U)

CDBS Hackers <build-common-hackers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
cdbs

Peter Eisentraut <petere@debian.org>
cdbs (U)

Jonas Smedegaard <dr@jones.dk>
cdbs (U)

Joey Hess <joeyh@debian.org>
debhelper


If those could possibly be fixed before the soft freeze begins, we could
have usable cross-building support in Lenny, which would be v.good IMHO.
It would allow me to concentrate on the important issues of
Emdebian-specific changes (like optional components and dependency
changes) instead of simply getting the packages to build.

--------------------------------------------------------

This is the list of maintainers for the remaining open bugs (excluding
the pending bugs). Some of these are really v.v.old and I will look at
doing delayed NMU's for those that remain unfixed after Fosdem.

http://www.emdebian.org/bugs.php

Russ Allbery <rra@debian.org>
krb5 (U)

Bill Allombert <ballombe@debian.org>
libjpeg6b

Domenico Andreoli <cavok@debian.org>
curl

Bastian Blank <waldi@debian.org>
busybox (U)
cdebconf (U)

Jérémy Bobbio <lunar@debian.org>
cdebconf (U)

Daniel Burrows <dburrows@debian.org>
aptitude
libsigc++-2.0

Volker Christian <voc@debian.org>
libmimedir

Randolph Chung <tausq@debian.org>
cdebconf (U)

Julien Cristau <jcristau@debian.org>
mesa (U)

Julien Cristau <julien.cristau@ens-lyon.org>
libx11 (U)

Marco d'Itri <md@linux.it>
tcp-wrappers
udev

Debian Install System Team <debian-boot@lists.debian.org>
busybox
cdebconf

Debian OpenSSL Team <pkg-openssl-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
openssl

Debian X Strike Force <debian-x@lists.debian.org>
libx11
mesa

Bernd Eckenfels <ecki@debian.org>
net-tools

Anthony Fok <foka@debian.org>
freetype (U)

Jochen Friedrich <jochen@scram.de>
libgsm

Brice Goglin <bgoglin@debian.org>
mesa (U)

Steve Greenland <stevegr@debian.org>
cron (U)

Sam Hartman <hartmans@debian.org>
krb5
pam (U)

Joey Hess <joeyh@debian.org>
cdebconf (U)

Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
curl (U)
readline5

Matt Kraai <kraai@debian.org>
cdebconf (U)

Noèl Köthe <noel@debian.org>
wget

Steve Langasek <vorlon@debian.org>
freetype
pam

Roger Leigh <rleigh@debian.org>
pam (U)

Christoph Martin <christoph.martin@uni-mainz.de>
openssl (U)

Paul Martin <pm@debian.org>
popt

Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@debian.org>
newt

Noah Meyerhans <noahm@debian.org>
iputils

Josselin Mouette <joss@debian.org>
fontconfig (U)

Ryan Murray <rmurray@debian.org>
esound

Jan Christoph Nordholz <hesso@pool.math.tu-berlin.de>
rxvt

David Nusinow <dnusinow@debian.org>
libx11 (U)
mesa (U)

Keith Packard <keithp@debian.org>
fontconfig

Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
freetype (U)

Gerrit Pape <pape@smarden.org>
dash

Drew Parsons <dparsons@debian.org>
libx11 (U)

Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Pen~a <jfs@computer.org>
cron

Frans Pop <fjp@debian.org>
cdebconf (U)

Karl Ramm <kcr@debian.org>
pam (U)

Thierry Reding <thierry@gilfi.de>
mesa (U)

Kurt Roeckx <kurt@roeckx.be>
openssl (U)

Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>
acl (U)

Hendrik Sattler <debian@hendrik-sattler.de>
libopenobex

Andreas Schuldei <andreas@debian.org>
curl (U)

Nathan Scott <nathans@debian.org>
acl

Martin Sjogren <sjogren@debian.org>
cdebconf (U)

Craig Small <csmall@debian.org>
procps
psmisc

Ralf Treinen <treinen@debian.org>
xdemineur

James Troup <james@nocrew.org>
ed
mawk

Santiago Vila <sanvila@debian.org>
diffutils

Michael Vogt <mvo@debian.org>
libcap

Colin Watson <cjwatson@debian.org>
cdebconf (U)

The actual bug numbers:
acl 284167
aptitude 465076
busybox 465290
cdebconf 451130
cron 465077
curl 465089
dash 450512
diffutils 451159
ed 451175
esound 465092
fontconfig 451277
freetype 465292
iputils 451181
krb5 465294
libcap 283023
libgsm 465222
libjpeg6b 451222
libmimedir 465150
libopenobex 465262
libsigc++-2.0 465255
libvolume-id-dev 459788
libx11 425445
mawk 285418
mesa 451648
net-tools 451281
newt 465105
openssl 465248
pam 284854
popt 282913
procps 451812
psmisc 465226
readline5 465237
rxvt 465214
tcp-wrappers 451854
udev 465156
wget 451285
xdemineur 465117


--

Neil Williams
=============
http://www.data-freedom.org/
http://www.nosoftwarepatents.com/
http://www.linux.codehelp.co.uk/
 
Old 02-11-2008, 09:33 PM
Neil Williams
 
Default Progress on the mass bug filing for cross build support.

On Mon, 2008-02-11 at 19:19 +0000, Neil Williams wrote:

One little note on these bugs:
1. All bugs below have patches attached that have been carefully tested
with your package to avoid any changes in the Debian packages. As such,
the patches can be applied without you needing to worry about testing
the patch within a crossbuild environment. Please verify that the patch
does not change your Debian packages and let me know if I have missed
something that changes the Debian build. I am conscious that time is
short before certain packages go into soft freeze and I want to get the
autotools-dev support into as many packages as possible because these
are the patches that are the most difficult for Emdebian to maintain as
"outside-tree".
2. Many patches are inter-woven with other changes and other patches
elsewhere in Debian and might not be sufficient to actually implement
complete cross build support for any one package at this time. This is
not, IMHO, a reason to not apply the patches at this stage. I have
started with the autotools-dev patches because these are the ones that
will simplify my cross building workload the most. With these patches in
place, I will be able to allocate time to solving the more general
problems that still remain within cross building Debian. There is little
point submitting patches that are full of hacks and workarounds. Leave
those to me and emdebian-tools. :-) When I have fixes for the issues
that require the hacks, I'll come back with the final changes. (Please
let me walk before expecting me to run. ;-))
3. The long term mass bug filing for cross build support is ongoing and
this is only Phase 1. I fully expect to still be filing bug reports
under this title after Lenny has become old-stable. One step at a time
is the principle.
4. I have deliberately *not* included changes in these Phase 1 patches
that are related to other changes in Debian that are yet to be
implemented. Emdebian has working solutions for all the problems on a
patch basis but better solutions are pending. I need to get this set of
patches into place so that it frees up time to solve the more general
issues.
5. Some patches include support for --cache-file. See my explanation of
this in #465294. Other packages may still need similar support but I
have decided not to seek patches for these packages, yet. If anyone has
a good idea for solving the issues described in #465294, I'm listening.
6. Please apply the patches as they stand - harangue me at Fosdem if you
have general questions but please, help me out and apply the patches so
that I can get on with Phase 2 and actually get something working for a
Fosdem demo. Thanks. ;-)

(Many thanks to those developers who have already uploaded fixes for the
bugs listed in the original email.)

> --------------------------------------------------------
>
> This is the list of maintainers for the remaining open bugs (excluding
> the pending bugs). Some of these are really v.v.old and I will look at
> doing delayed NMU's for those that remain unfixed after Fosdem.
>
> http://www.emdebian.org/bugs.php
>
> Russ Allbery <rra@debian.org>
> krb5 (U)
>
> Bill Allombert <ballombe@debian.org>
> libjpeg6b
>
> Domenico Andreoli <cavok@debian.org>
> curl
>
> Bastian Blank <waldi@debian.org>
> busybox (U)
> cdebconf (U)
>
> Jérémy Bobbio <lunar@debian.org>
> cdebconf (U)
>
> Daniel Burrows <dburrows@debian.org>
> aptitude
> libsigc++-2.0
>
> Volker Christian <voc@debian.org>
> libmimedir
>
> Randolph Chung <tausq@debian.org>
> cdebconf (U)
>
> Julien Cristau <jcristau@debian.org>
> mesa (U)
>
> Julien Cristau <julien.cristau@ens-lyon.org>
> libx11 (U)
>
> Marco d'Itri <md@linux.it>
> tcp-wrappers
> udev
>
> Debian Install System Team <debian-boot@lists.debian.org>
> busybox
> cdebconf
>
> Debian OpenSSL Team <pkg-openssl-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
> openssl
>
> Debian X Strike Force <debian-x@lists.debian.org>
> libx11
> mesa
>
> Bernd Eckenfels <ecki@debian.org>
> net-tools
>
> Anthony Fok <foka@debian.org>
> freetype (U)
>
> Jochen Friedrich <jochen@scram.de>
> libgsm
>
> Brice Goglin <bgoglin@debian.org>
> mesa (U)
>
> Steve Greenland <stevegr@debian.org>
> cron (U)
>
> Sam Hartman <hartmans@debian.org>
> krb5
> pam (U)
>
> Joey Hess <joeyh@debian.org>
> cdebconf (U)
>
> Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
> curl (U)
> readline5
>
> Matt Kraai <kraai@debian.org>
> cdebconf (U)
>
> Noèl Köthe <noel@debian.org>
> wget
>
> Steve Langasek <vorlon@debian.org>
> freetype
> pam
>
> Roger Leigh <rleigh@debian.org>
> pam (U)
>
> Christoph Martin <christoph.martin@uni-mainz.de>
> openssl (U)
>
> Paul Martin <pm@debian.org>
> popt
>
> Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@debian.org>
> newt
>
> Noah Meyerhans <noahm@debian.org>
> iputils
>
> Josselin Mouette <joss@debian.org>
> fontconfig (U)
>
> Ryan Murray <rmurray@debian.org>
> esound
>
> Jan Christoph Nordholz <hesso@pool.math.tu-berlin.de>
> rxvt
>
> David Nusinow <dnusinow@debian.org>
> libx11 (U)
> mesa (U)
>
> Keith Packard <keithp@debian.org>
> fontconfig
>
> Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
> freetype (U)
>
> Gerrit Pape <pape@smarden.org>
> dash
>
> Drew Parsons <dparsons@debian.org>
> libx11 (U)
>
> Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Pen~a <jfs@computer.org>
> cron
>
> Frans Pop <fjp@debian.org>
> cdebconf (U)
>
> Karl Ramm <kcr@debian.org>
> pam (U)
>
> Thierry Reding <thierry@gilfi.de>
> mesa (U)
>
> Kurt Roeckx <kurt@roeckx.be>
> openssl (U)
>
> Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>
> acl (U)
>
> Hendrik Sattler <debian@hendrik-sattler.de>
> libopenobex
>
> Andreas Schuldei <andreas@debian.org>
> curl (U)
>
> Nathan Scott <nathans@debian.org>
> acl
>
> Martin Sjogren <sjogren@debian.org>
> cdebconf (U)
>
> Craig Small <csmall@debian.org>
> procps
> psmisc
>
> Ralf Treinen <treinen@debian.org>
> xdemineur
>
> James Troup <james@nocrew.org>
> ed
> mawk
>
> Santiago Vila <sanvila@debian.org>
> diffutils
>
> Michael Vogt <mvo@debian.org>
> libcap
>
> Colin Watson <cjwatson@debian.org>
> cdebconf (U)
>
> The actual bug numbers:
> acl 284167
> aptitude 465076
> busybox 465290
> cdebconf 451130
> cron 465077
> curl 465089
> dash 450512
> diffutils 451159
> ed 451175
> esound 465092
> fontconfig 451277
> freetype 465292
> iputils 451181
> krb5 465294
> libcap 283023
> libgsm 465222
> libjpeg6b 451222
> libmimedir 465150
> libopenobex 465262
> libsigc++-2.0 465255
> libvolume-id-dev 459788
> libx11 425445
> mawk 285418
> mesa 451648
> net-tools 451281
> newt 465105
> openssl 465248
> pam 284854
> popt 282913
> procps 451812
> psmisc 465226
> readline5 465237
> rxvt 465214
> tcp-wrappers 451854
> udev 465156
> wget 451285
> xdemineur 465117
>
>
--


Neil Williams
=============
http://www.data-freedom.org/
http://www.nosoftwarepatents.com/
http://www.linux.codehelp.co.uk/
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 03:00 PM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright ©2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org