FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Debian > Debian Development

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 05-14-2011, 03:55 PM
Roger Leigh
 
Default /run in *unstable*: migration of /lib/init/rw, /dev/.*

On Fri, May 13, 2011 at 07:28:30PM +0100, Roger Leigh wrote:
> > > http://wiki.debian.org/ReleaseGoals/RunDirectory

> With the upload of initramfs-tools (0.99) to unstable, we're now
> ready to upload sysvinit 2.88dsf-13.6 to unstable

The upload has been done and you should find yourself with a /run
hierarchy after initscripts has been upgraded. On reboot, you'll
see it set up as a tmpfs filesystem with the old locations of
/var/run, /var/lock and /dev/shm replaced by symlinks to the new
locations of /run, /run/lock and /run/shm, respectively.

Please refer to the wiki page for all the details:
http://wiki.debian.org/ReleaseGoals/RunDirectory

Now /run is available by default, we're ready for the next stage
of the transition, which is to get packages using the old
locations to use it directly. The initial focus will be on
transitioning users of /lib/init/rw and other non-FHS-compliant
locations such as /dev/.xxx and /dev/shm/xxx. Given the low
number of packages involved, we intend to file bugs against each.

Specific advice for migration is given on the wiki page.

The current list is on the wiki page, and includes:

Packages using /lib/init/rw
aide (using sendsigs.omit.d)
bibledit (mentioning /lib/init/rw in documentation, no blocker)
bup (using sendsigs.omit.d in examples, no blocker)
chkrootkit
console-common (splashy progress interface)
cruft (filters files from sendsigs.omit.d)
debootstrap
eeepc-acpi-scripts
fcheck
hostapd (using sendsigs.omit.d)
src:linux-atm (using sendsigs.omit.d)
live-build
logcheck (using sendsigs.omit.d)
ltsp (using sendsigs.omit.d)
lxc
mdadm
nbd (using sendsigs.omit.d)
src:nfs-utils (using sendsigs.omit.d)
pbuilder
portmap (using sendsigs.omit.d)
readahead-fedora
src:refpolicy (SELinux policy needs to be updated for /run)
resolvconf (621503) <--- migrated with 1.49 (experimental)
rpcbind (using sendsigs.omit.d)
rsyslog (using sendsigs.omit.d)
splashy (using sendsigs.omit.d)
sysklogd (using sendsigs.omit.d)
systemd
sysvinit (using sendsigs.omit.d)
tiger
unionfs-fuse (example file using sendsigs.omit.d, no blocker)
wpasupplicant (using sendsigs.omit.d)
xymon

Packages using /dev/.*
live-boot-initramfs-tools - /dev/.initramfs/varrun/sendsigs.omit
dracut - /dev/.dracut/
mdadm - /dev/.mdadm/
systemd - /dev/.systemd/ (v25 uses /run/systemd)
util-linux (mount) - /dev/.mount (v2.19.1 uses /run/mount)
(there may be other users)

Packages using /etc
/etc/lvm/cache/ - lvm2
/etc/adjtime
/etc/mtab - symlink to /proc/self/mounts (494001)
/etc/network/run/ifstate - ifupdown - (623523)


dd-list:
Peter De Schrijver (p2) <p2@mind.be>
linux-atm

Aide Maintainers <pkg-aide-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
aide

Ben Armstrong <synrg@sanctuary.nslug.ns.ca>
eeepc-acpi-scripts (U)

maximilian attems <maks@debian.org>
logcheck (U)

Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
live-boot (U)
live-build (U)

Christoph Berg <myon@debian.org>
xymon

Michael Biebl <biebl@debian.org>
rsyslog

Bastian Blank <waldi@debian.org>
lvm2 (U)

Fathi Boudra <fabo@debian.org>
splashy (U)

Vagrant Cascadian <vagrant@debian.org>
ltsp (U)

Luk Claes <luk@debian.org>
nfs-utils (U)
portmap (U)
rpcbind (U)

Francisco Manuel Garcia Claramonte <francisco@debian.org>
tiger (U)

Russell Coker <russell@coker.com.au>
refpolicy

Debian Crosswire Packaging Team <pkg-crosswire-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
bibledit

Debian Eee PC Team <debian-eeepc-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
eeepc-acpi-scripts

Debian Install System Team <debian-boot@lists.debian.org>
debootstrap

Debian kernel team <debian-kernel@lists.debian.org>
nfs-utils

Debian Live Project <debian-live@lists.debian.org>
live-boot
live-build

Debian logcheck Team <logcheck-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
logcheck

Debian LVM Team <pkg-lvm-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
lvm2

Debian mdadm maintainers <pkg-mdadm-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
mdadm

Debian pbuilder maintenance team <pbuilder-maint@lists.alioth.debian.org>
pbuilder

Debian sysvinit maintainers <pkg-sysvinit-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
sysvinit

Debian/Ubuntu wpasupplicant Maintainers <pkg-wpa-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
hostapd
wpasupplicant

Tim Dijkstra <tim@famdijkstra.org>
splashy (U)

Jan Dittberner <jandd@debian.org>
hostapd (U)

Jon Dowland <jmtd@debian.org>
bup

Eric Evans <eevans@debian.org>
logcheck (U)

Mike Forbes <mike@nothing.net.nz>
chkrootkit (U)

Gerfried Fuchs <rhonda@debian.at>
logcheck (U)

Raphael Geissert <geissert@debian.org>
eeepc-acpi-scripts (U)
readahead-fedora

Daniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
resolvconf (U)

Daniel Glassey <wdg@debian.org>
bibledit (U)

Nico Golde <nion@debian.org>
eeepc-acpi-scripts (U)

Oliver Grawert <ogra@ubuntu.com>
ltsp (U)

Marc Haber <mh+debian-packages@zugschlus.de>
aide (U)
logcheck (U)

Wartan Hachaturow <wart@softhome.net>
console-common (U)

Hannes von Haugwitz <hannes@vonhaugwitz.com>
aide (U)
logcheck (U)

Tollef Fog Heen <tfheen@debian.org>
systemd

Joey Hess <joeyh@debian.org>
debootstrap (U)

Henrique de Moraes Holschuh <hmh@debian.org>
sysvinit (U)

Thomas Hood <jdthood@gmail.com>
resolvconf (U)

Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
nfs-utils (U)

Giuseppe Iuculano <iuculano@debian.org>
chkrootkit

Damyan Ivanov <dmn@debian.org>
eeepc-acpi-scripts (U)

LaMont Jones <lamont@debian.org>
util-linux

Matt Kraai <kraai@debian.org>
pbuilder (U)

martin f. krafft <madduck@debian.org>
logcheck (U)
mdadm (U)

Hanspeter Kunz <hkunz@ifi.uzh.ch>
logcheck (U)

Carlos Laviola <claviola@debian.org>
ltsp (U)

Dmitrijs Ledkovs <dmitrij.ledkov@ubuntu.com>
bibledit (U)

Faidon Liambotis <paravoid@debian.org>
hostapd (U)

Stefan Lippers-Hollmann <s.l-h@gmx.de>
wpasupplicant (U)

LTSP Debian/Ubuntu Maintainers <pkg-ltsp-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
ltsp

Francois Marier <francois@debian.org>
fcheck

Mike Markley <mike@markley.org>
aide (U)

Jonathan Marsden <jmarsden@fastmail.fm>
bibledit (U)

Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@debian.org>
console-common

Loc Minier <lool@dooz.org>
pbuilder (U)

Kel Modderman <kel@otaku42.de>
hostapd (U)
sysvinit (U)
wpasupplicant (U)

Luis Mondesi <lemsx1@gmail.com>
splashy (U)

Marco Nenciarini <mnencia@debian.org>
resolvconf (U)

Ryan Niebur <ryanryan52@gmail.com>
ltsp (U)

Marcin Owsiany <porridge@debian.org>
cruft

Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Pen~a <jfs@debian.org>
tiger

Christian Perrier <bubulle@debian.org>
console-common (U)

Petter Reinholdtsen <pere@debian.org>
ifupdown (U)
ltsp (U)
portmap (U)
sysvinit (U)

Scott James Remnant <scott@ubuntu.com>
util-linux (U)

resolvconf maintainers <resolvconf-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
resolvconf

Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>
nfs-utils (U)
portmap
rpcbind

Darren Salt <linux@youmustbejoking.demon.co.uk>
eeepc-acpi-scripts (U)

Otavio Salvador <otavio@debian.org>
splashy (U)

Bernd Schubert <bernd.schubert@fastmail.fm>
unionfs-fuse

Erich Schubert <erich@debian.org>
refpolicy (U)

Martin Schulze <joey@debian.org>
sysklogd

Philippe Seewer <philippe.seewer@bfh.ch>
dracut

Splashy Devel <splashy-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
splashy

Manoj Srivastava <srivasta@debian.org>
refpolicy (U)

Anthony Towns <ajt@debian.org>
cruft (U)
debootstrap (U)
ifupdown

Guido Trotter <ultrotter@debian.org>
lxc

Todd Troxell <ttroxell@debian.org>
logcheck (U)

Junichi Uekawa <dancer@debian.org>
debootstrap (U)
pbuilder (U)

Wouter Verhelst <wouter@debian.org>
nbd

Colin Watson <cjwatson@debian.org>
debootstrap (U)


--
.'`. Roger Leigh
: :' : Debian GNU/Linux http://people.debian.org/~rleigh/
`. `' Printing on GNU/Linux? http://gutenprint.sourceforge.net/
`- GPG Public Key: 0x25BFB848 Please GPG sign your mail.
 
Old 05-14-2011, 04:26 PM
Kurt Roeckx
 
Default /run in *unstable*: migration of /lib/init/rw, /dev/.*

On Sat, May 14, 2011 at 04:55:01PM +0100, Roger Leigh wrote:
> Packages using /etc
> /etc/adjtime

That file should probably not be in /etc in the first place,
but be somewhere under /var/lib. Since FHS 2.2 it even mentions
that this file should be /var/lib/hwclock/adjtime.


Kurt


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
Archive: 20110514162623.GA26033@roeckx.be">http://lists.debian.org/20110514162623.GA26033@roeckx.be
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:49 AM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org