FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
» Video Reviews

» Linux Archive

Linux-archive is a website aiming to archive linux email lists and to make them easily accessible for linux users/developers.


» Sponsor

» Partners

» Sponsor

Go Back   Linux Archive > Debian > Debian Development

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
 
Old 01-17-2008, 04:16 PM
Shachar Shemesh
 
Default Reordering the boot for fun and profit

Petter Reinholdtsen wrote:


And of course, it also make it possible to
dynamically order the scripts based on their dependencies.


When you said "and of course", I thought you were going to say "allow
scripts that have no inter-dependency to start in parallel". Having a
concurrency level of at least 2 should speed the start up considerably,
especially when packages are taking long to start mostly because they do
a sleep in wait for some hardware to settle.


Coming to think of it, maybe concurrency level of 2 is a little low.

Shachar


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
 
Old 01-17-2008, 09:22 PM
Petter Reinholdtsen
 
Default Reordering the boot for fun and profit

[Shachar Shemesh]
> When you said "and of course", I thought you were going to say "allow
> scripts that have no inter-dependency to start in parallel". Having a
> concurrency level of at least 2 should speed the start up
> considerably, especially when packages are taking long to start mostly
> because they do a sleep in wait for some hardware to settle.

Yes, running things in parallel is also made easier. But I am not
sure if it will speed up the boot or not. Benchmarks have been
inconclusive. Switching to dash as /bin/sh have more impact on the
boot time than reordering and concurrency, according to the result
from the google summer of code project of Carlos Villegas.

But before we can be sure to run everything, all init.d scripts should
have correct LSB headers. As you can see from this list, there are
still a few packages to fix. An updated list of packages is available
from <URL:http://wiki.debian.org/LSBInitScripts/DependencyBasedBoot>.

Guenter Geiger (Debian/GNU) <geiger@debian.org>
realtime-lsm

Peter De Schrijver (p2) <p2@mind.be>
linux-atm

Stefan Hornburg (Racke) <racke@linuxia.de>
courier
courier-authlib
interchange
pure-ftpd
sympa

Cyril Lacoux (Yack) <clacoux@easter-eggs.com>
digitools

Marco Presi (Zufus) <zufus@debian.org>
linesrv

Stefan Alfredsson <alfs@debian.org>
monit

Osamu Aoki <osamu@debian.org>
tpconfig

Ben Armstrong <synrg@sanctuary.nslug.ns.ca>
xpilot-ng

Don Armstrong <don@debian.org>
spamass-milter

SZALAY Attila <sasa@debian.org>
zorp

Artem Baguinski <artm@v2.nl>
drscheme (U)

Alan Bain <afrb2@debian.org>
rbootd

Andreas Barth <aba@not.so.argh.org>
mgetty

Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
ipmasq
nfs-user-server

Hilko Bengen <bengen@debian.org>
ulog-acctd

Grzegorz Bizon <verdan@pirx.int.pl>
specter

Bastian Blank <waldi@debian.org>
lvm2 (U)

Blars Blarson <blarson@blars.org>
cnews

Achim Bohnet <ach@mpe.mpg.de>
capisuite (U)

Ed Boraas <ed@debian.org>
aime
tinyproxy

W. Borgert <debacle@debian.org>
blinkd

Cyril Bouthors <cyril@bouthors.org>
bld
drbdlinks

Chris Boyle <cmb@debian.org>
reaim

Joachim Breitner <nomeata@debian.org>
dmraid (U)

Adrian Bridgett <bridgett@debian.org>
dante

Eric Van Buggenhaut <ericvb@debian.org>
udhcp

Bruno Barrera C. <bruno@debian.org>
portsentry

Patrick Caulfield <patrick@debian.org>
mopd

Hubert Chathi <uhoreg@debian.org>
gnustep-base (U)

Emmanuel le Chevoir <mms@debian.org>
frox

Dennis L. Clark <dbugger@debian.org>
bnetd

Jesus Climent <jesus.climent@hispalinux.es>
distmp3
spamassassin (U)

Russell Coker <rjc@coker.com.au>
memlockd

Russell Coker <russell@coker.com.au>
fcron (U)

Jamin W. Collins <jcollins@asgardsrealm.net>
jabber

Carlo Contavalli <ccontavalli@debian.org>
wipl

Paul Cupis <paul@cupis.co.uk>
guarddog
guidedog

Artur R. Czechowski <arturcz@hell.pl>
rrdcollect

Marco d'Itri <md@linux.it>
binkd

Julien Danjou <acid@debian.org>
greylistd
ledstats
lirc (U)
tetrinetx
tleds

Debian GNUstep maintainers <pkg-gnustep-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
gnustep-base

Debian Hamradio Maintainers <debian-hams@lists.debian.org>
aprsd
ssbd

Debian Icecast team <pkg-icecast-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
icecast2

Debian LVM Team <pkg-lvm-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
lvm2

Debian Multimedia Team <debian-multimedia@lists.debian.org>
das-watchdog

Debian Nagios Maintainer Group <pkg-nagios-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
nsca

Debian VoIP Team <pkg-voip-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
rtpproxy
siproxd

Eric Delaunay <delaunay@debian.org>
scsitools

Bernd Eckenfels <ecki@debian.org>
net-acct
transproxy

Robert S. Edmonds <edmonds@debian.org>
pcaputils

Free Ekanayaka <freee@debian.org>
das-watchdog (U)

Nick Estes <debian@nickstoys.com>
upsd

Bartosz Fenski <fenio@debian.org>
specter (U)

Martín Ferrari <martin.ferrari@gmail.com>
vtun

Agney Lopes Roth Ferraz <agney@debian.org>
fnfx

Duncan Findlay <duncf@debian.org>
spamassassin

sean finney <seanius@debian.org>
nsca (U)

Decklin Foster <decklin@red-bean.com>
lastfmsubmitd

Turbo Fredriksson <turbo@debian.org>
roxen4

Jochen Friedrich <jochen@scram.de>
isakmpd
snmptrapfmt

Peter S Galbraith <psg@debian.org>
xtide

Radovan Garabik <garabik@melkor.dnp.fmph.uniba.sk>
serpento

Radovan Garabík <garabik@kassiopeia.juls.savba.sk>
karrigell
xtell

Hector Garcia <hector@debian.org>
lirc (U)
smail

Matthew Garrett <mjg59@srcf.ucam.org>
netapplet
nstx

RISKO Gergely <risko@debian.org>
shaperd

David Gil <dgil@telefonica.net>
pads

Filippo Giunchedi <filippo@debian.org>
dmraid (U)

John Goerzen <jgoerzen@complete.org>
bacula
pygopherd

Celso González <celso@bulma.net>
cpudyn

Matthew Grant <grantma@anathoth.gen.nz>
netscript-2.4

Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
caudium
emifreq-applet

Daniel Gubser <guterm@debian.org>
psad

Guido Guenther <agx@sigxcpu.org>
smartmontools

Aurélien GÉRÔME <ag@roxor.cx>
dancer-ircd
dancer-services

Marc Haber <mh+debian-packages@zugschlus.de>
ifupdown-scripts-zg2
torrus (U)

Pierre Habouzit <madcoder@debian.org>
whitelister

Pascal Hakim <pasc@debian.org>
anacron

Chris Halls <halls@debian.org>
apt-proxy

Chris Hanson <cph@debian.org>
tpconfig (U)

David B. Harris <dbharris@debian.org>
ipband

Eric Heintzmann <eric@gnustep.fr.st>
gnustep-base (U)

Andres Seco Hernandez <AndresSH@debian.org>
alamin

Robert D. Hilliard <hilliard@debian.org>
dictd (U)

Kirk Hilliard <kirk@debian.org>
dictd

Varun Hiremath <varunhiremath@gmail.com>
oss-preserve

Henrique de Moraes Holschuh <hmh@debian.org>
fcron
rng-tools

Simon Horman <horms@debian.org>
heartbeat
perdition

Peter Howard <pjh@northern-ridge.com.au>
zoneminder

Qingning Huo <qhuo@mayhq.co.uk>
log2mail

Alberto Gonzalez Iniesta <agi@inittab.org>
fwlogwatch
netkit-bootparamd
xmbmon

Mario Iseli <admin@marioiseli.com>
irmp3

Ian Jackson <ian@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
sauce

Ian Jackson <ian@davenant.greenend.org.uk>
userv

Jan Janak <jan@iptel.org>
rtpproxy (U)

LENART Janos <ocsi@debian.org>
jmon

Aurelien Jarno <aurel32@debian.org>
lirc (U)

Joerg Jaspert <joerg@debian.org>
muddleftpd

LaMont Jones <lamont@debian.org>
hpsockd

Karl E. Jorgensen <karl@jorgensen.com>
battery-stats

Takuo KITAME <kitame@debian.org>
smtpguard

Bastian Kleineidam <calvin@debian.org>
fiaif

Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
buildbot
isdnutils (U)

Steve Kowalik <stevenk@debian.org>
xringd

Antonin Kral <A.Kral@sh.cvut.cz>
pimd

Kilian Krause <kilian@debian.org>
rtpproxy (U)
siproxd (U)

Anand Kumria <wildfire@progsoc.org>
tspc

Joshua Kwan <joshk@triplehelix.org>
nethack

Mario Lang <mlang@debian.org>
filterproxy

Thomas Lange <lange@debian.org>
fai

Simon Law <sfllaw@debian.org>
wvstreams

Chris Lawrence <lawrencc@debian.org>
gnome-lokkit

John Lines <john@paladin.demon.co.uk>
plptools
smtpd

lirc Maintainer Team <pkg-lirc-maint@lists.alioth.debian.org>
lirc

Pablo Lorenzzoni <spectra@debian.org>
tcpspy

Ola Lundqvist <opal@debian.org>
dhttpd
ledcontrol
nfsbooted
ntop

Ian Maclaine-cross <iml@debian.org>
ddns3-client

Keita Maehara <maehara@debian.org>
freewnn

Aigars Mahinovs <aigarius@debian.org>
swapd

Peter Makholm <peter@makholm.net>
slashem

Santiago Garcia Mantinan <manty@debian.org>
siproxd (U)

Christoph Martin <christoph.martin@uni-mainz.de>
mimedefang

Peter Mathiasson <peterm@debian.org>
pam-devperm

Martin Maurer <fireflier@gibraltar.at>
fireflier

Brian May <bam@snoopy.debian.net>
heimdal

Thom May <thom@debian.org>
puppet (U)

Rene Mayrhofer <rene.mayrhofer@gibraltar.at>
gibraltar-bootcd

Rene Mayrhofer <rmayr@debian.org>
pptpd

Jonathan McDowell <noodles@earth.li>
l2tpns

Neil McGovern <neilm@debian.org>
blootbot

Steve McIntyre <93sam@debian.org>
nas
wmaloader

Kyle McMartin <kyle@ubuntu.com>
irqbalance

Michael Mende <debian@menole.net>
wackamole

Abraham vd Merwe <abz@debian.org>
ixbiff

Michael Meskes <meskes@debian.org>
jftpgw

Millis Miller <millis@faztek.org>
iptotal

Loic Minier <lool@dooz.org>
dmraid (U)
lirc (U)
termpkg

Hamish Moffatt <hamish@debian.org>
aprsd (U)
ssbd (U)

lantz moore <lmoore@debian.org>
rplay

Sam Morris <sam@robots.org.uk>
pymsnt

James Morrison <phython@debian.org>
wvstreams (U)

Jose M. Moya <josem@debian.org>
mathopd

Sven Mueller <sven@debian.org>
lirc (U)

Ryan Murray <rmurray@debian.org>
at

Sebastian Muszynski <do2ksm@linkt.de>
ax25spyd

Gergely Nagy <algernon@debian.org>
tama

Marco Nenciarini <mnencia@debian.org>
xtradius

Jaakko Niemi <liiwi@debian.org>
sfs

Recai Oktas <roktas@debian.org>
elog

Masahito Omote <omote@debian.org>
totd

Patrick Ouellette <pouelle@debian.org>
aprsd (U)
ssbd (U)

Sam Hocevar (Debian packages) <sam+deb@zoy.org>
gnudip
ipfm
rinetd

Gerrit Pape <pape@smarden.org>
cfs
dropbear

Eloy A. Paris <peloy@debian.org>
ipxripd
ncpfs

Patrick Patterson <ppatters@debian.org>
wvstreams (U)

Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Pen~a <jfs@debian.org>
bastille

Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Pen~a <jfs@computer.org>
honeyd
pads (U)
samhain

Víctor Pérez Pereira <vperez@debianvenezuela.org>
squidtaild

Nick Phillips <nwp@lemon-computing.com>
teapop

Ari Pollak <ari@debian.org>
drscheme

Cajus Pollmeier <cajus@debian.org>
nsca (U)
uif

Daniel J. Priem <danielpriem@flexserv.de>
capisuite

Celso Providelo <cprov@gwyddion.com>
sqcwa

Puppet Package Maintainers <pkg-puppet-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
puppet

Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>
gsmlib
hpoj
rtpproxy (U)
siproxd (U)

KELEMEN Péter <fuji@debian.org>
arpwatch

Stephen Quinney <sjq@debian.org>
ganglia-monitor-core (U)

Martin Quinson <mquinson@debian.org>
nws

Ganesan Rajagopal <rganesan@debian.org>
ipsec-tools
openslp-dfsg

Simon Raven <simon@nuit.ca>
blootbot (U)

Sebastian Rittau <srittau@debian.org>
netatalk (U)

Jaime Robles <jaime@debian.org>
aprsd (U)
ssbd (U)

Kurt Roeckx <kurt@roeckx.be>
ircd-irc2

Piotr Roszatycki <dexter@debian.org>
ldapdns
systune

Mats Rynge <mats@rynge.net>
p3scan

Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>
bpalogin
ncpfs (U)
pipsecd
swapspace

Otavio Salvador <otavio@debian.org>
apt-proxy (U)

Amaya Rodrigo Sastre <amaya@debian.org>
lirc (U)

Bernd Schumacher <bernd.schumacher@hp.com>
secvpn

Frederik Schüler <fs@debian.org>
wackamole (U)

Vladimir Shakhov <lumpen.intellectual@gmail.com>
wdm

Guus Sliepen <guus@debian.org>
inputlirc

Paul Slootman <paul@debian.org>
isdnutils
isdnutils (U)

Jurij Smakov <jurij@debian.org>
torrus (U)

Jonas Smedegaard <dr@jones.dk>
icecast2 (U)
netatalk
netatalk (U)
pop-before-smtp
rpld

Roger So <rogerso@debian.org>
im-sdk
im-sdk (U)

Jose Carlos Garcia Sogo <jsogo@debian.org>
siproxd (U)

David Spreen <netzwurm@debian.org>
anon-proxy

Joop Stakenborg <pa3aba@debian.org>
aprsd (U)
cwdaemon
pingpong
ssbd (U)

Dennis Stampfer <seppy@debian.org>
timeoutd

Andrew Stribblehill <ads@debian.org>
ganglia-monitor-core (U)

Stephan A Suerken <absurd@debian.org>
gom

Ondrej Surý <ondrej@debian.org>
bird
nsd
postfix-policyd

Bryan Sutula <Bryan.Sutula@hp.com>
openhpi

Matt Taggart <taggart@debian.org>
cpqarrayd

Akira TAGOH <tagoh@debian.org>
im-sdk (U)

Sergio Talens-Oliag <sto@debian.org>
postman

Jose Luis Tallon <jltallon@adv-solutions.net>
couriergraph

Stuart Teasdale <sdt@debian.org>
ganglia-monitor-core

Paul Telford <pxt@debian.org>
mordor
mudnames

Jason Thomas <jason@debian.org>
nagios-statd

Michael Tokarev <mjt@corpit.ru>
rbldnsd

Torrus maintainers <pkg-torrus-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
torrus

Junichi Uekawa <dancer@debian.org>
rarpd

Fumitoshi UKAI <ukai@debian.or.jp>
hyperestraier
quickml
smtpfeed

Matthias Urlichs <smurf@debian.org>
mgetty (U)

Utnubu Team <utnubu-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
dmraid

Matej Vela <vela@debian.org>
vsftpd

Santiago Vila <sanvila@debian.org>
postfix-gld
rbldnsd (U)

Tommi Virtanen <tv@debian.org>
scalemail

Michael Vogt <mvo@debian.org>
scanlogd

Riku Voipio <riku.voipio@iki.fi>
setmixer

Martin Waitz <tali@debian.org>
oidentd

Lucas Wall <lwall@debian.org>
popfile

Hanna Wallach <hmw26@cam.ac.uk>
didiwiki

Chad Walstrom <chewie@debian.org>
clamsmtp

Jerome Warnier <jwarnier@beeznest.net>
and

Dan Weber <dan@mirrorlynx.com>
siproxd (U)

Joerg Wendland <joergland@debian.org>
ipvsadm

Torsten Werner <twerner@debian.org>
oss-preserve (U)

Brian White <bcwhite@pobox.com>
genpower
squid-prefetch

Carsten Wolff <carsten@wolffcarsten.de>
distcc

Martin Wuertele <maxx@debian.org>
bopm

Matt Zimmerman <mdz@debian.org>
umlrun

Anton Zinoviev <zinoviev@debian.org>
console-cyrillic

Happy hacking,
--
Petter Reinholdtsen


--
To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org
with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org
 

Thread Tools




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:36 PM.

VBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright ©2007 - 2008, www.linux-archive.org